Skip to main content
ask a librarian email questions

APA Guide

This guide contains information to help you cite your sources in APA format.

Chapter or Article from an Edited Collection of Essays (Viewed in Print)

Format: Essay or Entry Author, A. A. (Year). Title of essay, chapter or article. In A. A. Last name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., pp. of essay, chapter or article). City, State: Publisher.

Example: Hagerman, R. J. (2015). Medical concerns and treatment for children with fragile X syndrome. In J. D. Weber (Ed.), Children with fragile X syndrome: A parents’ guide (pp. 93-120). Bethesda, MD: Woodbine House.

 

Article or Entry from a Reference Book (Viewed in Print)

Format: Entry Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In A. A. Last name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. number, pp. numbers). City of publication, state: Publisher.

Example 1: Turner, J. (2016). Diaper rash. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (3rd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 1169-1171). Detroit, MI: Thomson Gale.

*Note: If no author given, move the title to author position; alphabetize entry by title.

Example 2: Labored breathing. (2014). In Mosby’s dictionary of medicine, nursing and health professions (7th ed., p. 1055). Philadelphia, PA: Mosby.

 

Chapter or Article from an Edited Collection of Essays
(Database or Website)

No DOI Given: Include URL of Publisher Homepage 

Format: Essay Author, A. A. (Year). Title of essay, chapter or article. In A. A. Last name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., pp. of essay, chapter or article). Retrieved from http://url_of_publisher_home_page

Example: O’Rourke, R. (2015). Can’t, won’t or don’t: Readers and writers in adult education. In J. Mace (Ed.), Literacy, language, and community publishing: Essays in adult education (pp. 23-40). Retrieved from http://www.multilingualmatters.com


DOI Given

Format: Essay Author, A. A. (Year). Title of essay, chapter or article. In A. A. Last name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., pp. of essay, chapter or article). doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx

Example: Costello, G. J. (2016). My book trip. In R. L. Taylor (Ed.), Organizational dynamics of technology-based innovation. (2nd ed., pp. 1-15). doi: 10.1007/978-0-387-72804-9_32

 

Article or Entry from a Reference Book (Database or Website)

No DOI Given: Include URL of Publisher Homepage 

Format: Entry Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In Editor’s A. A. Last name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. number, pp. number’s). Retrieved from http://url_of_publisher_home_page

Example: Rowland, B. R. (2015). Prickly heat. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of alternative medicine (2nd ed.). Retrieved from http://www.gale.cengage.com


DOI Given

Format: Entry Author, A. A. (Year). Title of entry. In Editor’s A. A. Last name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. number, pp. numbers). doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx

Example: Costello, G. J. (2016). Introduction. In R. L. Taylor (Ed.), Organizational dynamics of technology-based innovation. (2nd ed., Vol. 3, pp. 1-15). doi: 10.1007/978-0-387-72804-9_32

 

Helpful Information

Author / Editor:

If no author given, move the title to author position and alphabetize entry by title.

If group/corporate author and publisher are the same, put “Author” in publisher location and move title to author position.

If more than one editor, list all names (following the same rules as multiple authors) and put (Eds.) in parenthesis.

Publisher:

Omit unessential words such as Publishers, Co., or Inc. Keep the words Books and Press; if name of the state or province is included in the name of University publisher, do not also include it in location information.

Date:

If no date is given, use (n.d.).

Location:

Include city and state. For cities outside the US, include the city and country.

Page Numbers:

Precede page numbers with p. or pp. (depending on whether it's one page or multiple pages).

If article is on discontinuous pages, give all page numbers, and separate the numbers with a comma, (p. 200) Note: For journal articles: if each issue of a journal begins on page 1, include the issue number in parenthesis (p. 198. See example in database section).

Formatting:

Double space entries. If an entry runs more than one line, use a hanging indent to indent any additional lines beyond the first.

Capitalize proper nouns and the first words of title and subtitle.

Acceptable abbreviations can be found on p. 180 of the APA manual; Table of contents for examples in the manual, pp. 193-198.

If what you are citing is not listed in APA manual, choose the example in the manual most like your source.