Encyclopedias are an example of a reference source and can be great to use for background information about a subject. Encyclopedias provide overviews of various topics to help their readers learn more about a subject. The SCC Library has access to many encyclopedias, both online in library databases and in print on the shelves in the library.
Format with Author: Author Last Name, Author First Initial. (Year). Title of entry. In Editor First Initial. Editor Last Name (ed.), Title of encyclopedia (edition). Publisher. DOI/URL
Format no Author: Title of entry. (Year). In Editor First Initial. Editor Last Name (ed.), Title of encyclopedia (edition). Publisher. DOI/URL
In the citation, capitalize proper nouns and the first words of title and subtitle - this is for both the title of the entry and the title of the entire book (however the title of the entire book will also be italicized).
Note: If you mention a title in your paper, all major words should be capitalized. If it is part of entry, it should be in quotation marks and if the title of the book, it should be in italics.
If no author given, skip the author and move the title in front of the date; alphabetize entry by title.
If group author (company, association, organization, etc.) and publisher are the same, list group author in the author position and skip the publisher (to avoid repetition).
If more than one editor, list all names (following the same rules as multiple authors) and put (Eds.) in parenthesis.
List the publisher's name as shown in the source. Do not abbreviate (unless shown that way). Follow capitalization as shown in source.
Do not include business structures like Inc., Ltd., LLC, etc. even if they appear as part of the publisher's name.
Use imprints or divisions as the publisher if listed (instead of the larger company).
If no date is given, use (n.d.).
Always list the DOI if given. DOI is preferred rather than a URL.
If a DOI is not given, but the source can be found in a library database, then there is no need to include a URL (simply cite the entry the same way you would a print entry). However, if a DOI is not given, and the source is not in a library database - rather found on the internet - then include a URL (to help people find it).
URLs should be as specific as possible (i.e. take the reader directly to the page you used). So use the full URL (https://www.nytimes.com/2020/07/28/us/politics/william-barr-house-judiciary-hearing.html) rather than the home page (https://www.nytimes.com).
Present DOI’s and URL’s as hyperlinks beginning with http:// or https:// (Links can be ‘live’ if your writing is going to be viewed electronically or online)
Double space entries. If an entry runs more than one line, use a hanging indent which indents any additional lines beyond the first (there is a button in Microsoft Word and other programs to do this; do not use the tab button or the space bar).
Acceptable abbreviations can be found on pp. 306-7 of the APA manual (7th ed.).
If what you are citing is not listed in APA manual, choose the example in the manual most like your source.
Format: Author Last Name, Author First Initial. (Year). Title of entry. In Editor First Initial. Editor Last Name (ed.), Title of encyclopedia (edition, page numbers). Publisher.
Example: Gourley, M.M., Mertz, L., & Wexler, B. (2020). Public health. In J.L. Longe (ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (6th ed., vol. 7, pp. 4303-4306). Gale.
Format: Title of entry. (Year). In Editor First Initial. Editor Last Name (ed.), Title of encyclopedia (edition, page numbers). Publisher.
Example: Anchored instruction. (2009). In E.M. Anderman & L.H. Anderman (eds.), Psychology of classroom learning: An encyclopedia (vol. 1, pp. 34-36). Gale.
Format: Author Last Name, Author First Initial. (Year). Title of entry. In Editor First Initial. Editor Last Name (ed.), Title of encyclopedia (edition). Publisher. DOI/URL
Example: Miké, V. (2005). Computer viruses. In C. Mitcham (ed.), Encyclopedia of science, technology, and ethics (vol. 3). Macmillan Reference USA. https://doi.org/10.10588/6.88420
*Note: This example could be from a library database or from Internet as APA does not include database information in the citation.
Format: Title of entry. (Year). In Editor First Initial. Editor Last Name (ed.), Title of encyclopedia (edition). Publisher. DOI/URL
Example: Public colleges. (2019). In B. Romaniuk (ed.), The college blue book (46th ed., vol. 1). Gale. https://doi.org/10.5692.tpc.45.70238
*Note: This example could be from a library database or from Internet as APA does not include database information in the citation.
DOI stands for Digital Object Identifier, and is a unique code assigned to academic articles/books to help you locate them. It's sort of like an article's social security number. A DOI may look like a link (https://doi.org/10.1109/5.771073) or they may just have the DOI itself (10.1109/5.771073). In your citation, format the DOI as a link.
Always include the DOI if it is given, but not every source will have one. If a source has a DOI, it takes the place of a URL.
Format: Author Last Name, Author First Initial. (Year). Title of entry. In Editor First Initial. Editor Last Name (ed.), Title of encyclopedia (edition). Publisher. URL
Example from Library Database: Simpson, C. (2019). Best majors for high incomes. In R. Simmons (ed.), Encyclopedia of higher education (6th ed., vol. 2). Gale.
Example from Internet: Miké, V. (2005). Computer viruses. In C. Mitcham (ed.), Encyclopedia of science, technology, and ethics (vol. 3). Macmillan Reference USA. https://www.este-macmillian.com/1598547
Format: Title of entry. (Year). In Editor First Initial. Editor Last Name (ed.), Title of encyclopedia (edition). Publisher. DOI/URL
Example from Library Database: Top colleges in USA. (2019). In R. Simmons (ed.), Encyclopedia of higher education (6th ed., vol. 2). Gale.
Example-Internet: Public colleges. (2019). In B. Romaniuk (ed.), The college blue book (46th ed., vol. 1). Gale. https://www.cengage.com/9853485
Giles Campus | 864.592.4764 | Toll Free 866.542.2779 | Contact Us
Copyright © 2024 Spartanburg Community College. All rights reserved.
Call 864.592.4764
Text 864.756.8008