Skip to main content
ask a librarian email questions

About the Library

Information about library hours, locations, contact, policies, etc.

Distance/Virtual Learners

Below are some commonly asked questions for students who are taking classes at SCC but do not live in Upstate, South Carolina.

Off-Campus Access

To access our research databases (Find Articles page) from off-campus, you will need a username and password. Please see our Off-Campus Access page for more information or Contact Us. You can also email us on our Ask-A-Librarian service.

ITP Students

Please see our Subject Guide for Interpreting / ASL students.

Find Books

To see all of our book options, please visit our Find Books & Videos page

Use the Library's Catalog to search for books that are in our library. You can come to our library to use or check out these materials. If you live outside of Upstate South Carolina, we will mail books from our collection to your home, and we will include a self-addressed stamped envelope for you to return the book at no cost.

We also have several large collections (over 200,000) of electronic books available via our E-Book Databases. They provides the full-text of the entire book available online. You often can download these books, but it may require you to set up a special (free) account and download some free third party software. Alternatively, you can print, save, and email small sections of the book to review later. Note: some of our E-books only allow one user to view a particular book at a time, so if you get a busy notification, simply wait a few minutes and try again.

If you need a book from another library, see our PASCAL Delivers and Interlibrary Loan information.

Find Articles

To find a magazine or journal article on a specific topic, visit our Find Articles page, select the subject area that best fits your needs, and search one of the Library Databases listed in that subject area. For advice on which database to use or which subject area to begin looking in, Contact Us in person or by phone, or through our Ask-A-Librarian service.

If you need to request an article that we do not have access to, please see the Interlibrary Loan Information for details on how to submit your request.

Find Online Reference Material

Please see the Encyclopedias (online) Databases.