About the Library

About the SCC Library

The SCC Library helps students reach their academic, personal, and professional goals by providing access to high-quality, relevant information resources and by providing an information literacy program that teaches students how to find, evaluate, and use information. The Library's resources include access to books, eBooks, journals, magazines, research databases, videos, and more. In addition, the Library provides assistance with research assignments, formatting, citations, and computer usage. Assistance is available in-person at any of our physical locations, by phone, or via our Ask a Librarian email/chat/text service.

The Library's locations are:

• Giles Campus, first floor of the Library Learning Resource Center
• Cherokee County Campus, first floor of the Peeler Academic Building
• Downtown Campus, second floor of the Evans Academic Center
• Tyger River Campus, virtual library services
• Union County Campus, virtual library services

Each campus with a physical library features reading/work space, study rooms, computers, printers, scanners, AV equipment, and print collection, as well as access to a large electronic collection of databases and eBooks (SCC log in required). Print materials at each campus are geared towards each campus' needs; however, materials may be requested for next-day transfer between library locations. Materials that the SCC library does not own may be borrowed from partner libraries across the state and the country, via our various consortium memberships.

For further information regarding the Library’s services or resources, please visit the Library’s website, use our Ask a Librarian service, or Contact Us

Mission Statement

The mission of the Spartanburg Community College Library is to provide a variety of user-oriented library services and collections designed to meet the needs of all academic, continuing education, distance education, transitional studies and community interest programs offered at Spartanburg Community College. The Library supports these programs at all locations by developing collections in a systematic and comprehensive manner, making these materials easily available, assisting in the use of these materials, and providing remote access to library services and resources for students, faculty and staff.

The Library supports the College's mission to advance the economic development of our region by preparing students to enter the job market, transfer to senior colleges and universities and assist them in achieving their professional and personal goals by providing effective, accessible, and high quality information services. The Library also provides materials of cultural interest to students, in that the combination of these offerings enhances career and educational preparation at Spartanburg Community College. Through excellence in teaching and learning, the college promotes lifelong learning and helps students reach their personal and professional goal