Chat with a Librarian
Skip to Main Content
ask a librarian email questions

About the Library

Information about library hours, locations, contact, policies, etc.

Giles Campus Library

Giles Campus - Regular Hours

Monday: 7:30 am - 8 pm
Tuesday: 7:30 am - 8 pm
Wednesday: 7:30 am - 8 pm
Thursday: 7:30 am - 8 pm
Friday: 7:30 am - 1:30 pm
Closed Saturday & Sunday

Hours may vary according to College calendar.

Giles/Spartanburg Campuscentral campus library

Physical Address:
107 Community College Drive
Spartanburg, SC 29303

Mailing Address:
PO Box 4386
Spartanburg, SC 29305

Phone: 864.592.4764
Toll Free: 866.542.2779
Text: 864.756.8008

The library is located on the first floor of the Library Learning Resources Center (LIB)

Library Features & Services

Research assistance

Library instruction

Research databases, electronic books & journals

Specialized print collection of materials for SCC curriculum

Popular fiction reading collection

Amber Pierdinock, Public Services Librarian

Print newspapers, magazines, and journals

Computers with printing for student use (PCs and 1 Mac)

Select computers for community/public use (no printing available)

Copier

Scanners

Monica Cannon

Individual and group study rooms with TV/VCR/DVD

Elizabeth Cox

Virtual Tour

The images below show you the library facility and highlight some of the features, equipment, and services the library offers. If you have any questions about using or visiting the library, please Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service

Front entrance of library with plants and signs

Welcome to the Giles Campus Library and Learning Resources Building! The Library is housed on the first floor. 

Circulation desk with woman checking books

The Circulation Desk at the front is where you can check-out materials, including study rooms, course reserves/textbooks, calculators and other equipment. Bring your College ID card to check-out all items! You can also find MLA/APA handouts, receive color printing, and get help from library staff.

Computer stations within circular desk arrangement

A library staff member is also available at the Information/Reference desk in the computer area to assist with questions.

Computers on large desks arranged in a circle

Computers are available for student use, simply log in with your SCC login. You'll also find our two black and white printers at the Information/Reference Desk for student use. Bring your College ID to print!

Set of eight tables and chairs with power strips

We have lots of tables and study space to do your work. All tables and study areas have plugs available so you can easily plug in laptops or devices. Quiet study break activities such as chess, puzzles, and coloring are also available on tables near the library door.

Chairs and tables arranged in front of full window

Comfortable soft seating is grouped throughout the library for student use. Enjoy the natural lighting and views of the lovely Zen garden outside our large windows.

Chairs and table arranged in front of full windows

Comfortable soft seating is grouped throughout the library for student use. Enjoy the natural lighting and views of the lovely Zen garden outside our large windows.

Row of desks with accessibility readers along wall

The very back of the library, behind our main shelving, provides a "Quiet Zone" for students wanting a quiet area to study. 2 accessibility readers are also available here. 

Four study nooks with movable desk and lamp

Also in the back of the library, in our "Quiet Zone," you'll find our "Study Pod" chairs that provide a comfortable place to relax and study!

Large study room with six chairs and computer

Giles has 2 large group study rooms for groups of 3-8 students. Rooms have a computer, TV, DVD/VHS player, and whiteboard. Bring your College ID to check-out study rooms at the front desk. Study rooms are first-come, first-served, but can be reserved ahead of time too.

Small study room with two chairs and computer

Giles has 3 small study rooms for 1-3 students. Rooms have a computer, TV, DVD/VHS player, and whiteboard. Bring your College ID to check-out study rooms at the front desk. Study rooms are first-come, first-served, but can be reserved ahead of time too.

White enclosed cubicle with benches and table

Our "Study Cubby" in the back, provides a cozy place for individuals or small groups to study. The Study Cubby is first-come, first-served.

Twelve rows of shelves filled with print items

Popular Fiction reading materials and magazines/journals/newspapers are found on the short shelves next to the computer area.

Decorative shelves along wall with items displayed

Browse the What's New area at the library entrance to see our recently purchased materials.

Three rows of shelves filled with AV materials

Our AV materials, including movies/DVDs, Books on CD, CD-Roms, and CD's are on shelves at the very front of the library. We also have streaming videos available on our website!

Rows of shelves filled with books

The back of the library is where you will find out main collection of non-fiction/academic books, which has books for the college's programs and classes. This area is called "Stacks" or Circulating Collection. Students may borrow up to 15 books at a time for 3 weeks. If you need any help finding materials, Library staff are always happy to help you. We also have a ton of eBooks available online via our website!

Several shelves full of large books

Also in the back (on the right), there are two shelves for the Reference Collection. Items include encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, maps, literature criticism, and more! These items cannot be checked out; they can only be used within the library. 

Two large shelves filled with Children's books

The last section in the back, on the far right, is the Children's Literature Collection that primarily supports our Early Childhood Education program, but anyone can check out these books!

Library staff member leads instruction for class

Library staff members often teach inside the Instruction Room. They may discuss topics like citing materials or research assistance. 

Two computers with scanners and a copy machine

The Copy Center at Giles offers a copy machine (10 cents/page) and 2 digital scanners. Ask library staff if you have any questions about how to use this equipment!

Floor Plan of the SCC Library, Giles Campus.

Floor plan with color coded areas and labels

 

Floor plan map of the SCC Library Giles Campus, featuring service and material locations. Click the pdf link below to open a larger image.