7. Write Your Paper - ENG 101 - Famous Trials - SCC Research Guides at Spartanburg Community College

Writing Fundamentals from Writer's Reference Center
This has links to articles on writing any document, paraphrasing, quotations, writing a thesis statement, outline, body paragraphs, conclusion, and writing about themes, characters, form, symbols, etc.
Choosing a Research Topic and Creating a Thesis
This guide from the SCC Library provides students information on how to choose a research topic for an assignment including what makes a good research topic, concept mapping, background research, and narrowing a topic and most importantly information about creating a thesis.
Choosing a Topic (Tutorial)
This SCC Library tutorial will walk you through how to choose an appropriate topic for a research assignment and help you turn your research topic into a thesis statement.

Creating and Formatting MLA Paper
This guide from SCC Library provides you instructions in MS Word for formatting a paper correctly including proper font and header.
Formatting Your Works Cited Page-MLA
This guide from SCC Library provides you instructions in MS Word for formatting works cited page correctly including proper font and hanging in-dent.
Sample Paper in MLA Format
Don't forget to format your paper in MLA format. This sample paper will show you how to format your paper.

Sample Paper in MLA Format with Block Quotes
Open this document to see a sample of what your paper should look like when formatted using MLA, including examples of how to incorporate information from sources, quotes, in-text citations, and a works cited page.

Formatting Your Title Page and Paper-APA
This guide from SCC Library provides you instructions in MS Word on how to format the title page and paper in APA for student papers.
Formatting Your Reference Page-APA
This guide from SCC Library provides you instructions in MS Word for formatting references page correctly including proper font and hanging in-dent.
Sample Paper in APA Format
This sample paper shows how an APA paper should look.

Organizing Your Research
This guide from the SCC Library provides information on creating research note cards, source tables, and research outlines to help organize your sources so that you can incorporate them into your paper.
Incorporating Sources into a Research Project
This guide from the SCC Library provides resources on how to properly include sources in a research project without plagiarism, whether through good note-taking, following the research process, or using direct quotations, paraphrasing, or summarizing, etc.
How to Paraphrase: Avoid Plagiarism in Research Papers with Paraphrases & Quotations (3 min. video)
This video explains how to paraphrase information correctly to avoid plagiarism.

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
This site contains resources for writing, research, grammar, mechanics, and style guides (MLA & APA).

Writer's Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides tools and information to help users write and research effectively. Includes writing fundamentals, grammar, style, research, revision, etc. Proxy Bypass

The Learning Center (TLC) offers free tutoring (in-person or online).

Free, online virtual tutoring is available 24/7 through NetTutor (link found on the TLC Page or in D2L)
Visit the TLC in-person at Giles or other campuses. Visit the TLC Portal Page (SCC Log in Required) for hours and English and Computer tutor availability.
Email your paper/project to them at askatutor@sccsc.edu. They offer a 48 hour turn-around on papers (excluding weekends and holidays), and ask that you send a copy of the assignment as well. The paper needs to be Microsoft Word format (don't share a copy of your OneDrive/cloud account), and please include your due date and SCC college ID number in the email.

Visit the The Learning Center located in the P. Dan Hull Building, rooms E2, E5, E6. See TLC Portal Page (SCC log in required) for additional locations. Contact The Learning Center for more information.