Chat with a Librarian
Skip to Main Content
ask a librarian email questions

Faculty & Staff Guide

This guide provides faculty and staff with information about SCC library services.

Linking to Electronic Resources

If you want to create a link to an electronic article, eBook, or entry from a library database that is usable both on and off-campus for your students in your D2L class, syllabus, class notes, etc., follow the instructions listed below.

Accessing Databases: You may be asked to login to the library's databases even on campus. You should always be asked to login to access an article or ebook from a library database when you are off-campus. You username is your email address (ex: absmith@sccsc.edu), and the password is your portal password.

How you create the links is based on the vendor/database provider. Please find your vendor/database below and follow the directions. If you need any assistance or are using a vendor/database that is not on he list, please contact Mary Daubenspeck.

Saving and Using Links from Databases

Use the Link Provided by these Vendors/Databases

For links from these vendors, use the permanent URL or Permalink provided by the database. These savable links are usually labeled something like Permalink, Get Link, Share link to Book, Share, Page Link, Email Jumpstart, etc.(Do not use the URL in the address box at the top of the page as it may contain temporary session information.)

EBSCO: All Databases EBSCO eBooks Logo for EBSCO Full Database List

Gale: All Databases Gale eBooks Gale Power Search

Proquest: These Databases Gale eBook Central (Proquest)CultureGramsAcademic Video Online Logo

InfoBase: These DatabasesAfrican American History Bloom's LiteratureFilms on DemandFerguson Career GuideIssues and ControversiesWriter's Reference Center

Credo: All Databases Credo Reference

Salem Press: All Databases Salam Press

OVID: Ovid Nursing Database

Kanopy:  Kanopy

Swank:  Swank Logo

StatRef!: AAFP Conditions A to Z, EBMCalc., and all except Anatomy TV (see below for Anatomy TV). Stat!Ref

Vendors/Databases That Link Need Editing

Links from these vendors/specific databases, you need to run through this Link Generator website. Paste the link in the "Enter your links" box, and then copy the new link it creates.

OpenAthens Link Generator

 

Bloomsbury: All Databases Bloomsbury Culture History Drama Online-National Theatre CollectionShakespeare's Globe on Screen Logo

Chronicle of Higher Education: Chronicle of Higher Education logo

InfoBase: These Databases Today's Science World Almanac Kids Intermediate World Almanac Kids Elementary

 

MLA Handbook Plus MLA Handbook Logo

Proquest: These databases Coronavirus Research Database LogoProquest: PAC Database Logo

StatRef: Anatomy TV Anatomy TV