Welcome to the SCC Library

Using the Library (Policies and Services)

Below are some of the Library's policies and services available to library users. If you have any questions, please Contact Us or submit your question to our Ask a Librarian service.

• Who Can Borrow?
• How long Can I Borrow?
• Renewals
• Overdue Fines
• Library Collection
• Interlibrary Loan
• Library Orientation
• Reference Services
• Reserve Collection
• Study Room Policy
• Confidentiality of Library User's Records
• SC's Library Responsibility Law
• Use a Library Computer or SCC's Wifi?
• SCC Policy for Computer and Internet Use
• Printing in the Library

Who Can Borrow?

Materials may be borrowed by:

• Currently registered students. Students use their Spartanburg Community College (SCC) ID for check out of library materials.
• Currently employed faculty/staff. Employees use their Spartanburg Community College (SCC) ID for check out of library materials.
• Students enrolled in other colleges that SCC has an agreement with, either individually or through a consortium such as PASCAL. A current student ID from home institution is required each time materials are borrowed.

The following user groups are eligible for a Community Patron Card, issued by the SCC Library, and able to borrow library materials following library policies for community patrons. In all cases, a current SC Drivers’ License or state-issued ID is needed for identification. In addition, community patrons must be at least 18 years old.

• Community residents from the SCC service area (Spartanburg, Cherokee, or Union counties).
• Representatives from the local business/industry community.
• Former SCC students and employees.

Library Community Patron Card Holders:  

A SCC Library Community Patron card is needed to check out materials or have limited access to library computers. Cards are good for one year, and can be renewed with confirmation of patron’s ID, continuing eligibility, and updating of information. They should bring the card on every visit to the SCC Library to access library resources. Community patrons who do not follow library policies or abuse privileges will have their card and privileges revoked.

Borrowing Materials:

All borrowers of library material must be a registered patron in the library database. Materials are checked out, requested, renewed, fined, etc. based on the user group of the patron (student, employee, etc.). In order to borrow materials or use library services, patrons should also be in good standing (no overdue items, no fines/fees, account not restricted, etc.). See sections below or ask a library staff member for more details.

How Long & How Much Can I Borrow?

Loan Limits: Borrowers are limited in the number of items they can check out based on their user group.  

•     Employees are unlimited in the number of items they can check out.
•     Students are limited to 15 items.
•     Community patrons/alumni are limited to 5 items.

Overdue Fines & Lost Items Fees

Overdue fines (late fees) are currently charged only to Community Patrons (excepting former SCC students/employees). Current and former SCC employees and students are not charged overdue fines. However, all users (except current SCC employees) will be charged a "lost item replacement fee" if overdue items are not returned, in addition to their library/college account being blocked.

Paying a Fine/Fee: If your account has been charged an overdue fine or lost item fee, please visit one of our library locations to pay with cash or check (please note, we do not accept credit/debit cards).

Renewals

Generally, patrons can renew items in-person, by phone or online via the Library Catalog. Most items can be renewed 2 times. Patrons can not renew items that are overdue, have an assumed lost status or items that have reached the maximum renewal limit. Some items cannot be renewed. For specific questions or help renewing an item, Contact the Library.

Library Collection

The primary goal of the SCC Library collection is to provide resources and materials to support the curriculum and instructional programs of Spartanburg Community College. Also, the Library supports the College’s mission of promoting “lifelong learning” and strives to help students reach their personal and professional goals. This includes acquisition of curriculum-aligned materials as well as popular fiction and recreational nonfiction in all formats. The Library also collects resources needed by faculty and staff to support teaching, continuing education and professional development in their respective fields.

The library is guided by a Collection Development Policy aimed at providing materials to support all of SCC’s programs/courses and informed by industry-standard practices in collection development.

Our Library Catalog, contains a listing of materials in our library. We also have numerous electronic resources available on our Find Articles Page.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (requesting materials from another library) services are provided to SCC faculty, staff, and students in good standing (no overdues, not on restriction, etc.).

Visit our Interlibrary Loan page to find out more about submitting your request.

Library Instruction

Library instruction is available upon request for in-person and online classes, day or evening classes, at all locations, or one-on-one sessions with individual students, depending on librarian and computer lab availability. Please make requests early so that we can make sure we can accommodate your class. Visit our Library Instruction page for more information.

Reference Services / Research Assistance

Reference services are provided in person or over the phone at each of our locations (check each location's hours and contact information), and via our Ask a Librarian service.

Reserve Collection

Upon an instructor's request, physical materials can be placed in the Reserve Collection at the circulation desk of any location for use by a course. The item may be from an instructor's personal collection (which would be returned after the reserve period is over) or may be an item from the SCC Library location. Reserve material can be "Library Use Only" or have a short circulation period of 3 days or in rare instances, 14 days. To put an item on reserve, please Contact Us or send your request to our Ask a Librarian service.

Study Rooms

Please visit our page on Study Rooms and review the Study Room Rules for more information.

Confidentiality of Library User's Records

Printing in the Library

Printing is only available to current SCC students, faculty, and staff. Every library location provides access to a black and white printer. Some campuses may have a color printer, where limited class-related printing is allowed (see a staff member for color printing). Please see a staff member if you need to print in color.

Students can print from the library computers or from their own devices if they are logged onto the SCC wifi. 

At the Giles Campus, from a library computer, print from the computer/program/website, choose the correct library printer (see a staff member if you're unsure which printer to choose), then visit the print station to release your print job. You release your print job by scanning your College ID card (the short barcode). If you have any trouble or questions, please see a staff member for assistance.

To print from a library computer at the other locations, follow the same procedure above to send your print job to the printer, but you do not have to scan your card to release the print job.

To print from your own device, join the SCC wifi, either as a student or employee, and then log into the Portal. Under the box called "Campus Applications for Students," you will see a link for "Student Release Printing." Open, login, and follow the directions to print. Be sure you select the correct library printer to send your print job to - ask a staff member if you're unsure which printer to use.

There are limits to how much you can print at any one time. Your print job cannot exceed:

• 50 pages
• 5 copies
• And you cannot print the same document a second time within 90 seconds of sending it the first time.

SC's Library Responsibility Law

Use a Library Computer or SCC's Wifi

Each SCC Library location has desktop computers for student/employee use. You log into these computers with your SCC username and password. If you're not a current student or employee, Contact the library for more information about community users.

If you want to use SCC's Free wifi, which is available across every SCC campuses, including all the library locations.

• SCC students should connect their device to the network called SCC-Student. You will have to log in with your SCC username and password to connect to this network.
• SCC employees use the network called SCC-employee, and must also login with their SCC username and password.
• Community users should use the wifi network called SCC-Guest. This will prompt you to set up a temporary account that will allow you to connect to the network.

For instructions with settings on connecting to SCC Wi-Fi, see attached document on FAQ: How do I Use SCC Computers or Connect to Wi-Fi?

If you have any questions or trouble connecting, please contact SCC's IT department at 864-592-4682.

Also, please review and follow SCC's policy for Computer and Internet Use when using all technology on campus.

SCC's Policy for Computer and Internet Use

Computer resources and Internet access are made available in the library to support the goals of the College. Usage of these resources follows IT Procedures III-102.3 and III-102.4 and apply to faculty, staff, students, community patrons, and public access.

1. General Use: All computer and Internet resources of Spartanburg Community College are to be used solely for legitimate and authorized academic, instructional, research, administrative, and public services purposes. Misuse will cause a user's access to be revoked. Faculty and staff who abuse the system will be referred to college disciplinary policies as outlined in the personnel procedures of the College. Students will be referred to college disciplinary policies as outlined in The Student Code. Community patrons and public users will have all library privileges revoked.

2. Software: Users may not use or install unauthorized copies of software on library computers. Unauthorized use of software is regarded as a serious matter and any such use is without the College's consent.

3. Personal Responsibility: Users have a responsibility to be aware of materials that may be objectionable to others when using computer facilities in a public space like the library. Monitors, printers and personal electronic devices in public areas should not be used in public areas to display or print materials that might be defined as harassing or obscene. Users should not assume that computer use is private.

4. Limitations on use: Users also have a responsibility to be aware of the limited nature of computer and Internet resources in a library environment. Computer and Internet access may be limited by Library staff at any time without notice. During times of peak usage, students, faculty and staff will be given priority of public and community users.