4. Find Sources

Once you've narrowed your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use for your paper. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are a good place to start.

Gale in Context: Global Issues
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from reference books, academic journals, magazines, newspapers on international issues, perspectives from different countries, and current events.
Gale Power Search
- This link opens in a new window
A good general database that covers many subjects, especially current new issues. Has magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as some reference material. Full-text content.
EBSCO General Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Proxy Bypass
Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Salem Press History
- This link opens in a new window
Includes reference sets Decades: 30's - 90's; The Ancient World, The Middle Ages, The Renaissance, The 17th Century, The 18th Century, The 19th Century, The 20th Century, The Fifties, Seventies and Eighties in America, Notorious Lives, Inventors and Inventions, and Milestone Documents in American History.
Newsbank: Access World News
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories including SC Newspapers of Herald -Journal (Spartanburg), The State (Columbia), and The Post and Courier (Charleston).
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
With access to over million statistics on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 credible sources, this database specialized in market and consumer data, statistics, infographics, reports, plus company insights to support research and help to find statistics, charts, graphs, and other visuals to integrate into papers and presentations.

Country Research

CultureGrams
- This link opens in a new window
Maps, basic facts, daily life, culture, history and customs of 181 nations. Proxy Bypass

Recommended Websites

Human Rights Watch
Search by topic or country/region to find recent news; also a good place to find a topic.
United Nations/Human Rights
International Federation for Human Rights
Amnesty International
New York Times International Section
View recent and archival news about a country.

Recommended Books

Women's Lives Around the World: a Global Encyclopedia [4 Volumes] by Susan M. Shaw (Editor); Nancy Staton Barbour (Editor); Patti Duncan (Editor); Kryn Freehling-Burton (Editor); Jane Nichols (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 161069712X
Publication Date: 2018-01-04
Human Trafficking: a Reference Handbook by Alexis A. Aronowitz
Call Number: CCC Stacks HQ281 .A76 2017
ISBN: 9781440834851
Publication Date: 2017-02-24
E-Book and print
Modern Slavery by Siddharth Kara
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0231528027
Publication Date: 2018-07-31
Also in print: Giles Stacks HQ281 .K367 2017
Invisible Slaves by W. Kurt Hauser
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0817921052
Publication Date: 2017-10-15
Human Trafficking Around the World by Stephanie Hepburn; Rita J. Simon
Call Number: Giles REF K5297 .H47 2013
ISBN: 9780231161459
Publication Date: 2013-06-04
E-Book and print
Hidden in Plain Sight: America's Slaves of the New Millennium by Kimberly Mehlman-Orozco; Goldfarb & Associates
Call Number: Giles Stacks HQ281 .M435 2017
ISBN: 9781440854040
Publication Date: 2017-10-27
Child Exploitation and Trafficking by Kendall Funk Posner; T. Markus Funk; Virginia M. Kendall; Richard A. Posner (Foreword by)
Call Number: Giles Stacks KF9449 .K46 2017
ISBN: 1442264780
Publication Date: 2016-12-21
Also Available Online

Browse books on Human Rights

Browse books on Human Trafficking

Browse books on Child Labor

Browse books on Slave Labor

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.