4. Find Sources

Databases / Articles

The following databases are the best place to start.

Health Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
Current information from hundreds of authoritative sources, plus has thousands of videos, illustrations, journal articles from PubMed Central, and reference articles from MedlinePlus on diseases and timely health topics including comprehensive, in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures, as well as health and nutrition information.
Consumer Health Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. Proxy Bypass
Gale Health and Wellness
- This link opens in a new window
Health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos.

Recommended Books

Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Gale Research Inc (Other)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0028666585
Publication Date: 2020-04-03
Timely, comprehensive resource for consumers interested in health information.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health by Gale Research Inc (Other)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0028677064
Publication Date: 2021-01-08
Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, along with issues related to physical, cognitive and behavioral development. Covers every major body system. There is a distinct emphasis on health issues affecting children under the age of four.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Emerging Diseases by Gale Research Inc
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1410380777
Publication Date: 2018-01-19
Human Diseases & Conditions
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2018
Infectious Diseases by Ferid Murad; Atta-ur-Rahman; (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781681089232
Publication Date: 2021-11-10

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.

Recommended Websites

Centers for Disease Control
The United States Centers for Disease Control has information on diseases, emergency preparedness, healthy living, including statistics on many health topics
Medline Plus
U.S. National Library of Medicine's website has easy-to-understand resources on various diseases and health topics for the public. Includes links to self-help groups, health organizations, medical dictionaries, and clinical trials
National Institute of Health (NIH)
United States National Institutes of Health (NIH) website Includes A-Z index of NIH health resources, clinical trials and link to MedlinePlus.
National Cancer Institute
United States National Cancer Institute has consumer-oriented information on a wide range of cancer-related topics.
American Heart Association
Good source for information about the heart and heart related diseases.
American Diabetes Association
Good source of information about diabetes and diabetes prevention.
American Cancer Association
Good source for information about cancer and cancer prevention.
American Lung Association
Good source for information about lungs and lung related diseases.