SCC Research Guides: HRT 125: Biostimulants: 1. Explore Your Topic

1. Explore Your Topic

After thoroughly examining your assignment, now it's time to look for some initial background research on your topic. Try a search in the following databases to learn more about your topic.

Start with the big picture

You will want to do some background research in the resources to figure out what biostimulants are in general and what they do. Try searching for "biostimulant" as a keyword.

Narrow it down

As you read about biostimulants in general, keep track of a few different kinds that you think you might want to write about in more depth. Try running searches using the names of those individual biostimulants to make sure there is enough information available about them.

Vocational and Career Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this collection provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals including Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age and many more. Provided through EBSCO.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Contains articles from reference books, academic journals, newspapers, and magazines, as well as statistics on environmental issues.
Agricola
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. Provided through EBSCO.

Analyze Your Topic

You will need to include the following in your final paper:

- What are biostimulants? (general discussion)

- 2 examples of a biostimulant of your interest with detailed information

- How do they work?

- When and how are they applied?

- What specific results can you expect and cost?

Remember to focus to focus on a commercial use perspective, focusing on uses such as nursery or greenhouse production, landscaping, or turf management.