2. Find a Journal Article

Try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use for your project. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are the best place to start.

Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources.
EBSCO Education Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 4 databases at once! ERIC, Teacher Reference Center, Professional Development, and Education Full Text. Academic journals, news, reports, etc. in teaching and education. Proxy Bypass

Keywords

As you think about what concepts you want to research, think about what particular words might be found in a good article about that topic. For instance, if you are writing about the effects of technology in the classroom. Think of related keywords:

Technology	Effects	Classroom / Students
online classes / Internet computers / laptops / tablets smartphones social media	benefits vs. drawbacks improve vs. hurt advantages vs. disadvantages	student engagement communication cheating / plagiarism

Keywords work best by trial-and-error. Never do only one search. Some keywords will work better than others, and some keywords may lead you to different articles than you found in your first search. Search the databases with the keywords you selected to find relevant articles. And remember to ask a librarian if you need assistance coming up with keywords or looking for sources.