2. Explore Business Databases - BUS 110 - Entrepreneurship - SCC Research Guides at Spartanburg Community College

Start with General Business Databases

Once you have an idea about what your assignment is and what your topic might be, now it's time to begin exploring your topic to learn more about it. This is an important step in the research process because as you learn more about your topic, you begin to think about what points you might want to research further. In addition, learning about your topic helps you identify keywords or search terms to use later in your research.

Try the resources below to begin exploring.

EBSCO Business Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 3 databases at once! Business Source Premier, Academic Search Premier, Regional Business News. Scholarly business journals and other sources, including 1,125 peer-reviewed business publications. Proxy Bypass
Small Business Source
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Includes videos interviewing business owners, as well as state specific resources. Provided through EBSCO. Proxy Bypass
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
- This link opens in a new window
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how-to guides, articles and websites.
Gale Business: Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Gale reference content with respected business sources and full-text periodicals to provide access more than 430,000 detailed company profiles with company financial data, in-depth country overviews, and comprehensive industry profiles.
Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
Intellect provides the Hoovers Online private company data from Dun & Bradstreet on over 100 million privately held global companies (plus 145 million inactive global companies).
In addition, it also provides WhitePages Pro, executive contacts on over 90 million professional decision makers, global business family tree information, Nielsen demographic data and consumer lifestyle data from Infutor, and D&B First Research Industry Reports covering over 1000 industries.