Find Sources

Once you've narrowed your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are the best place to start.

Credo Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from almost 600 reference books, covering various subjects.
Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.
Salem Press
- This link opens in a new window
Includes various ebooks in health, history, literature, science, and career.

For People

Gale in Context: Biography
- This link opens in a new window
Look up information on specific people. Find biographical essays, magazine/newspaper/journal articles, images and websites for people.

For Businesses

Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
Intellect provides the Hoovers Online private company data from Dun & Bradstreet on over 100 million privately held global companies (plus 145 million inactive global companies).
In addition, it also provides WhitePages Pro, executive contacts on over 90 million professional decision makers, global business family tree information, Nielsen demographic data and consumer lifestyle data from Infutor, and D&B First Research Industry Reports covering over 1000 industries.

Statistics, Charts, Graphs

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Find statistics, charts, graphs, and other visuals to add to your papers and presentations.

Videos

See More Streaming Videos
View a complete list of all our streaming video databases.

General Article Databases

EBSCO General Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Proxy Bypass
Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Gale Power Search
- This link opens in a new window
A good general database that covers many subjects, especially current new issues. Has magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as some reference material. Full-text content.

See More Databases
Browse all of the library's databases.

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.