Databases and Books (Secondary Sources)

The following library databases will have secondary sources about the Founding Documents

African-American History
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. Proxy Bypass
Credo Reference
Articles from almost 600 reference books, covering various subjects.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection
This archival collection includes more than 2,000 journals and 14,000 eBooks in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences subjects including health science, history, religion, law, education, literary reviews, art, business, psychology, and many more subjects.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Page images from selected historic newspapers of 25 states and the District of Columbia, published from 1836-1922. Includes 34 historic South Carolina newspapers published in Anderson, Anderson Court House, Bennettsville, Charleston, Columbia, Edgefield, Georgetown, Laurens, Orangeburg, Orangeburg Court House, Pickens Court House, Rock Hill, Sumter, and Sumterville. Searchable by date and keyword. Viewing options include PDF images, downloadable images, text only, and persistent links for sharing. Includes a searchable and browsable directory of U.S. newspapers from 1690-present.
History Reference Source
History Reference Source is a database containing thousands of reliable magazine articles, e-books, primary source documents, biographies, photos, maps, videos and more about U.S. and world history, historic events and movements, civics and government, and regions and landmarks. Provided through EBSCO.

Freedom (Library of Congress)
The African American Struggle for Rights & Justice in words and images.

The Federalist Papers by Ian Shapiro (Editor); Alexander Hamilton; James Madison; John Jay
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780300118902

Publication Date: 2009-04-28

Essays with historical context and analysis of the Federalist Papers.
The Federalist Papers: A Reader's Guide by Scott, Kyle
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781501300745

Publication Date: 2013

The Reader's Guide will walk the reader through the 85 Papers and help them understand the significance and context of the Papers.