4. Find Sources

Once you've narrowed your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use for your project. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are the best place to start.

Ovid Nursing Journals
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 40 current, peer-reviewed journals in the field of nursing, including American Journal of Nursing, Circulation, Home Healthcare Nurse, Nursing Critical Care, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and Nursing. Proxy Bypass
EBSCO Health Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Lots of full text health journals. Search ALL 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition. Proxy Bypass
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles in nursing and allied health fields, with emphasis on specialized care, treatment and management of all types of patients.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
- This link opens in a new window
Full text nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.

Recommended Websites

Epilepsy Foundation
The Epilepsy Foundation is a nationwide organization dedicated to providing resources and information to those who live with epilepsy.
National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
The National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) provides information about the brain and nervous system and how they relate to neurological diseases.
National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence
The National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) is a UK-based organization who provides guidance on numerous healthcare issues.

Recommended Journals

Epilepsy Currents
Provides reviews, commentaries, and abstracts from the worlds literature on the research and treatment of epilepsy.
Epilepsy Research and Treatment
Provides information on epilepsy research and treatment.
Journal of Epilepsy Research
Provides articles in both basic and clinical epilepsy research.

Recommended Books

Introduction to Epilepsy by Gonzalo Alarcon
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781139339742
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
ABC of Epilepsy by Matthew C. Walker; W. Henry Smithson
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781444361216
Publication Date: 2012-01-03
Epilepsy: Coming to Terms with Chronic Seizures by Simon Pierce
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781534562592
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Epilepsy in Children: What Every Parent Needs to Know by Orrin Devinsky; Erin Conway; Courtney Glick
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781936303786
Publication Date: 2015-09-28

Search for Books

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.