4B. Find Sources - Famous Trials - ENG 101 - Justice (Atkinson) - SCC Research Guides at Spartanburg Community College

4. Find Sources

Use this step if you are planning to write your essay on a famous trial. Once you have researched and formed an opinion about the verdict, try searching the books and databases below for potential sources you can use for your paper. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your opinion about the verdict (this is your thesis). If you need help, ask a librarian.

Recommended Websites

Famous Trials
This site was created by professor Douglas O. Linder at University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law.
Justice 101 from Department of Justice
This website from the Department of Justice gives background information for students to learn more about the legal justice system.

Recommended Books

Your assignment suggests that you write about one of the following trials (you may pick a different one if you check with your instructor first):

Leo Frank Trial
Sacco-Vanzetti Trial
Bruno Richard Hauptmann Trial (Lindbergh Baby)
Leopold and Loeb Trial
Triangle Shirtwaist Fire Trial
Samuel Sheppard Trial

See below for books in the SCC Library collection on each of these trials

Great American Trials
Call Number: E-Book

Publication Date: 2003

E-book contains chapters on Lenny Bruce, Ted Bundy, Chicago Seven, Al Capone, Leo Frank, Bruno Hauptmann, Patty Hearst, Alger Hiss, Leopold and Loeb, Charles Manson, Sacco-Vanzetti, Scopes, Scottsboro, Sam Sheppard, Son of Sam, Julius & Ethel Rosenberg, and Triangle Shirtwaist Fire.
The print version of this book contains more trials, located at Giles REF KF220 .G74 1994 and Cherokee REF KF220.G74 1994.
Crimes and Trials of the Century by Steven Chermak (Editor); Frankie Y. Bailey (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book and Giles Campus Ref. KF221 .P6 C75 2007

ISBN: 9780313341090

Publication Date: 2007-10-30

Most major crimes of the 20th century including: Sacco-Vanzetti, Leopold and Loeb, Scottsboro Boys, Lindbergh baby, Emmett Till, Sam Sheppard, Charles Manson, Ted Bundy, Central Park 5. Rodney King, OJ Simpson, Susan Smith, and Scott Peterson plus more.
Trials of the Century by Scott P. Johnson
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781598842623

Publication Date: 2010-10-06

Also in print: Giles REF KF220 .J64 2011.
Includes Earp Trial (1881) and Black Sox Trial (1921).
Famous Trials in History by Elisabeth A. Cawthon
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780816081677

Publication Date: 2011-10-01

Also in print: Giles REF K540 .C39 2012
Crimes of the Centuries by Steven Chermak (Editor); Frankie Y. Bailey (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1610695941

Publication Date: 2016-01-25
The Mammoth Book of Famous Trials by Roger Wilkes (Editor)
Call Number: Giles REF K540 .M36 2006

ISBN: 0786717254

Publication Date: 2006-03-27
The Encyclopedia of American Crime by Carl Sifakis
Call Number: Giles REF HV6789 .S54 2001

ISBN: 0816040400

Publication Date: 2000-11-01

Also Available Online
Ten Great American Trials by Glenn C. Altschuler; Faust F. Rossi
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1634255925

Publication Date: 2017-06-01

Contains Sacco and Vanzetti, Leopold & Loeb, Scottsboro, Alger Hiss, Sam Sheppard, Village of Skokie vs. National Socialist Party of America, Dan White, Claus von Bulow, McMartin Preschool, O.J. Simpson.
Also in print: Giles Reference KF220 .A43 2016

Black-Jewish Relations on Trial: Leo Frank and Jim Conley in the new South by Jeffrey Melnick
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1578062861

Publication Date: 2000-09-01

Copy at Giles Campus
An Unspeakable Crime: The Prosecution and Persecution of Leo Frank by Elaine Marie Alphin
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1467749346

Publication Date: 2014-08-01

Copy at Giles Campus
The Silent and the Damned: : the murder of Mary Phagan and the lynching of Leo Frank by Robert Seitz Frey; Nancy Thompson-Frey; John Seigenthaler (Foreword by)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780815411888

Publication Date: 2002-02-25

Copies at Giles and Cherokee Campuses
And the Dead Shall Rise: The murder of Mary Phagan and the lynching of Leo Frank by Steve Oney
Call Number: Cherokee and Giles Stacks HV6534 .A7 O54 2004

ISBN: 9780679764236

Publication Date: 2004-10-12
Did They Really Do It? by Fred Rosen
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1504024494

Publication Date: 2015-11-17

Chapters on Lizzie Borden, Bruno Hauptmann (Lindbergh baby), Leo Frank, and the Rosenbergs.
The Leo Frank Case by Leonard Dinnerstein
Call Number: Giles Stacks KF224 .F7 D56 2008

ISBN: 9780820331799

Publication Date: 2008-09-15
Guilty or Not Guilty?: An account of the trials of, the Leo Frank case, the D.C. Stephenson case, the Samuel Insull case, the Alger Hiss case by Francis X. Busch
Call Number: Giles Stacks KF220 .B847 1998

ISBN: 9781575884219

Publication Date: 1998-03-01

In Search of Sacco and Vanzetti : double lives, troubled times, and the Massachusetts murder case that shook the world by Susan Tejada
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781555537302

Publication Date: 2012-04-10

Copy at Giles Campus
Sacco-Vanzetti Affair: America on Trial by Moshik Temkin
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1282352008

Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Sacco and Vanzetti by Bruce Watson
Call Number: Giles Stacks KF224 .S2 W38 2007

ISBN: 9780670063536

Publication Date: 2007-08-16
Postmortem: New evidence in the case of Sacco and Vanzetti by William Young; David E. Kaiser
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 0585084319

Publication Date: 1985-01-01
The Legacy of Sacco and Vanzetti by Louis Joughin; Edmund M. Morgan
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 0691614075

Publication Date: 2015-03-08

Hauptmann's Ladder: a step-by-step analysis of the Lindbergh kidnapping by Richard T. Cahill
ISBN: 9781606351932

Publication Date: 2014-02-12

Available online and at Gile Campus (HV6603 .L5 C34 2014). Hauptmann's Ladder is a meticulously researched examination of the Lindbergh kidnapping that restores and preserves the truth of the crime of the century.
The Case That Never Dies: the Lindbergh kidnapping by Lloyd C. Gardner
ISBN: 9780813554112

Publication Date: 2012-06-20

Available online and at Gile Campus ( HV6603 .L5 G37 2012) Essential reading for anyone interested in the most famous American crime of the twentieth century
Murder, Culture, and Injustice by Walter L. Hixson
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1884836674

Publication Date: 2000-11-01

Also in print: Giles Stacks HV6529 .59.2001
Includes Lizzie Borden, Lindbergh baby (Bruno Hauptmann), Sam Sheppard, and O. J. Simpson trials.
Did They Really Do It? by Fred Rosen
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1504024494

Publication Date: 2015-11-17

Chapters on Lizzie Borden, Bruno Hauptmann (Lindbergh baby), Leo Frank, and the Rosenbergs.
Crimes of the Century by Gilbert Geis; Leigh B. Bienen
Call Number: Giles Stacks KF220 .G45 1998

ISBN: 9781555534271

Publication Date: 2000-03-02

E-Book also available
Contains info on Leopold and Loeb, Scottsboro, Hauptmann/Lindbergh, and OJ Simpson

Evil Summer: : Babe Leopold, Dickie Loeb, and the kidnap-murder of Bobby Franks by John Theodore
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 0809387492

Publication Date: 2007-10-04
For the Thrill of It: : Leopold, Loeb, and the murder that shocked jazz age Chicago by Simon Baatz
Call Number: Giles Stacks HV6245 .B27 2009

ISBN: 9780060781026

Publication Date: 2009-04-28
The Great Trials of Clarence Darrow: The landmark cases of Leopold and Loeb, John T. Scopes, and Ossian Sweet by Donald McRae
Call Number: Giles Stacks KF373 .D35 M37 2010

ISBN: 9780061161506

Publication Date: 2010-05-18

Presents a profile of the controversial twentieth-century defense attorney through accounts of three of his history-making trials, including the defense of a pair of teenage murder suspects, the Scopes Monkey Trial, and the Ossian Sweet murder case in Detroit.
Crimes of the Century by Gilbert Geis; Leigh B. Bienen
Call Number: Giles Stacks KF220 .G45 1998

ISBN: 9781555534271

Publication Date: 2000-03-02

E-Book also available
Contains info on Leopold and Loeb, Scottsboro, Hauptmann/Lindbergh, and OJ Simpson

The Triangle Fire by Leon Stein; William Greider (Introduction by)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 0801487145

Publication Date: 2001-02-15

Look particularly at chapter, "Justice" for information on the trial.
Triangle : the fire that changed America by David von Drehle
Call Number: Giles Campus Stacks F128.5 .V946 2003

ISBN: 9780802141514

Publication Date: 2004-08-16

"On March 25, 1911, as workers were getting ready to leave for the day, a fire broke out in the Triangle shirtwaist factory in New York's Greenwich Village. Within minutes it spread to consume the building's upper three stories.
The Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire by Donna Getzinger
Call Number: Giles Stacks F128.5 .G48 2009

ISBN: 9781599350998

Publication Date: 2008-08-01
The Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire by Brenda Lange
Call Number: Giles Stacks F128.5 .L237 2008

ISBN: 9780791096413

Publication Date: 2008-12-30

Dr. Sam Sheppard on Trial by Jack DeSario; William D. Mason
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 0873387708

Publication Date: 2003-07-01
American Legal Injustice: Behind the Scenes with an Expert Witness by Emanuel Tanay
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 128321380X

Publication Date: 2011-08-09

Contains chapter on Sam Sheppard trial.
The Wrong Man by James Neff
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781504006798

Publication Date: 2015-04-07
Murder, Culture, and Injustice by Walter L. Hixson
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1884836674

Publication Date: 2000-11-01

Also in print: Giles Stacks HV6529 .59.2001
Includes Lizzie Borden, Lindbergh baby (Bruno Hauptmann), Sam Sheppard, and O. J. Simpson trials.
A Question of Evidence: A casebook of great forensic controversies, from Napoleon to O.J. by Evans, Colin
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9786610367184

Publication Date: 2003

Contains chapters on Sam Sheppard and OJ Simpson

Databases / Articles

History Databases

Gale in Context: U.S. History
Great database for U.S. history; particularly strong reference information.
EBSCO History Databases
Search 3 databases at once! History Reference Center, Military & Gov't Collection, European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750. Covers U.S. and World History. Proxy Bypass

Reference Databases

Gale eBooks
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.
Credo Reference
Articles from almost 600 reference books, covering various subjects.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Page images from selected historic newspapers of 25 states and the District of Columbia, published from 1836-1922. Includes 34 historic South Carolina newspapers published in Anderson, Anderson Court House, Bennettsville, Charleston, Columbia, Edgefield, Georgetown, Laurens, Orangeburg, Orangeburg Court House, Pickens Court House, Rock Hill, Sumter, and Sumterville. Searchable by date and keyword. Viewing options include PDF images, downloadable images, text only, and persistent links for sharing. Includes a searchable and browsable directory of U.S. newspapers from 1690-present.
U.S. Major Dailies
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five U.S. national and regional newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1980 for some titles.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. News articles from the 1990s-current. Provided through EBSCO.
Gale OneFile: News
Full-text newspapers; search for articles by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, etc. National, regional, and local newspapers, as well as international papers. Also transcripts from radio broadcasts and television. Coverage 1990s-current
Newsbank: Access World News
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories including SC Newspapers of Herald -Journal (Spartanburg), The State (Columbia), and The Post and Courier (Charleston).
Black Life in America (Newsbank)
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.