Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format. More examples are found on the MLA guide.
How to Cite an Article from Ferguson's Database
Format: "Title of Article." Database in italics, Publisher of Database, Copyright Date, URL.
Example: "Medical Assistants." Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center, Infobase, 2020, go.openathens.net/redirector/sccsc.edu?url=https%3a%2f%2ffcg.infobase.com%2frecordurl%2f1301053%3faid%3d97845.
How to Cite a Journal/Magazine Article from a Database
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example: "Medical Assistant." Occupational Outlook Handbook, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 12 Apr. 2019, www.bls.gov/ooh/healthcare/medical-assistants.htm.
Example: "Occupational Employment and Wages, May 2019: 27-1022 Fashion Designers." Occupational Employment Statistics, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 6 July 2020, https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes271022.htm#st.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Citing Test Results from TypeFocus Career Assessment
Format: "TypeFocus Career Assessments." TypeFocus, Year, URL. Results for Student Name. Access Date.
Example: "TypeFocus Career Assessments." TypeFocus, 2020, v6.typefocus.com/beforelogin/home. Results for Jane Doe. Accessed 24 Nov. 2020.
*Note: The Access Date should be the date you got your results.
Citing an Image from the Web
Format: Creator(s). “Title of Image.” Website Title in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date, URL.
Example: “Kim Kardashian.” Vanity Fair, Condé Nast, 11 Jan. 2004, www.vanityfair.com.
Example 2: Lange, Dorothea. "Migrant Mother." Prints & Photographs Reading Room Collection, Library of Congress, 11 Jan. 2004, montevideo.usembassy.gov.
*Note: For images without titles, create a descriptive title in plain text – no italics, no quotes.
Citing an Image from a Database
Format: Creator(s). "Title of Image." Title of Source (if given), Publisher, Date, Database Name, URL.
Example: Johnson, Clinton. "Boston Street Scene." Library of Congress, 1895, Credo Reference, go.openathens.net/redirector/sccsc.edu?url=https%3a%2f%2ffcg.infobase.com%2frecordurl%2f1301053%3faid%3d97845
*Note: Italicize titles of formal art work.
This in-text citation information will get you started, but see our full In-text Citation Guide for more information and additional examples.
Place the author’s last name and page number in parenthesis. If the in-text citation is at the end of a sentence, place the period outside the parenthesis.
Example 1: (Hennessy 81).
Example 2: (Hennessy 81-82).
If a source has no page numbers, omit the page number. Keep in mind, most electronic sources do not include pages.
Example 1: ("Everyday Victims")
Example 2: (Jones)
If the source has no author, your in-text citation will use the title of the source that starts your works cited entry. The title may appear in the sentence itself or, abbreviated, before the page number in parenthesis.
Example 1: (“Noon” 508).
Example 2: (Faulkner’s Novels 25).
Example 3: (“Climate Model Simulations").
If the entry on the Works Cited page begins with the names of two authors, include both last names in the in-text citation, connected by and.
Example: (Dorris and Erdrich 23).
If the source has three or more authors, include the first author’s last name followed by et al.
Example: (Burdick et al. 42).
Giles Campus | 864.592.4764 | Toll Free 866.542.2779 | Contact Us
Copyright © 2024 Spartanburg Community College. All rights reserved.
Call 864.592.4764
Text 864.756.8008