Students who use the link to the webpage featuring both versions of the fairy tale should follow this format.
Format:
Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name. Title of Website. Compiled and translated by First Name Last Name, Website Publisher, Date of publication, URL.
Example:
Grimm, Jacob, and Wilhelm Grimm. Hansel and Gretel : A Comparison of the Versions of 1812 and 1857. Complied and translated by D. L. Ashliman, University of Pittsburgh, 2000-2002, sites.pitt.edu/~dash/grimm015a.html.
Students who use a PDF version of the story (and handout uploaded to D2L) should refer to Citing Course Materials.
Use this only when your instructor uploads an actual PDF or document, not when they link to a PDF or other material outside of D2L Brightspace (SCC's learning management system). If they do link out, then cite the website they link to.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Work." Name of Learning Management System in Italics, uploaded by Name, Date of Upload (if Known), URL.
Example with Access Date: Jacobs, W. W. "The Monkey's Paw." D2L Brightspace, uploaded by Katie Ramsey, d2l.sccsc.edu/d2l/le/content/701294/viewContent/595415/View. Accessed 1 Oct. 2024.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Please see below for MLA guidelines on how to cite different forms of multimedia.
Format: Title of Film. Directed by Director, Production Company, Date of Release. Database Name in Italics, URL/DOI.
Note: You do not have to put the director first (in the author's place). You can start with the title of the film instead, or list the most relevant person, like the director or main actor (i.e. Pitt, Brad, performer.)
*Note: You can usually omit the http:// unless needed to hyperlink.
*Note: For URLs longer than 3 lines, you can shorten the URL. Always retain the host (main website) of the URL.
Example: Teach Us All: Segregation and Education in the United States. Directed by Sonia Lowman, Video Project, 2017. Kanopy, sccsc.kanopy.com/video/teach-us-all.
*Note: If you skip the author, you can add important people like the director or main actor after the title (as above). For actors, you would use "Performed by" instead of "Directed by."
Example: The Tempest. Directed by Julie Taymor, 2010. Swank, www.digitalcampus.swankmp.net/sccsc364204/play/0B8EC62DA93C52F9.
Example: Can We Save the Reef? Off the Fence, 2018. Films on Demand, fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=97845&xtid=186717.
*Note: When citing a segment of a film, put the name of the segment in quotation marks, followed by a period before the name of the film.
Example: "Adapting for Survival." Can We Save the Reef? Off the Fence, 2018. Films on Demand, fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=97845&xtid=186717.
Example: "Hidden in the Genes." Directed by Krista Whetstone, Public Broadcasting Service, 2022. Alexander Street, video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/hidden-in-the-genes.
Example: The Tempest. Directed by Jeremy Herrin and Ian Russell, Globe on Screen. Shakespeare's Globe on Screen. 2013. Drama Online, https://doi.org/10.5040/9781350997547.
**Note: List both the screen director and stage director in your citation.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Video.” Website Title in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), uploaded by Name of User, Date of Upload, URL.
Example: “Biology: Cell Structure.” YouTube, uploaded by Nucleus Medical Media, 18 Mar. 2015, www.youtube.com/watch?v=URUJD5NEXC8.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Video.” Website Title in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of Video, URL.
Example: Raqib, Jamila. “The Secret to Effective Nonviolent Resistance.” TED, Nov. 2015, www.ted.com/talks/jamila_raqib_the_secret_to_effective_nonviolent_resistance.
*Author Note: See how to create a citation for a source with more than one author here.
*Title Note: See when to Italicize Titles and when to put "Titles in Quotation Marks" here.
Base Format: "Episode Name." Name of Television Show, directed or created by, season #, episode #, TV Show Producer, Date. Website/Database/App, URL/DOI.
Format: "Episode Name." Name of Television Show, season #, episode #, TV Show Producer, Date of Broadcast.
Example: "The Night of the Idaho Student Murders." 48 Hours, season 36, episode 2, CBS News, 16 Sept. 2023.
Format: "Episode Name." Name of Television Show, season #, episode #, TV Show Producer, Date. Streaming Website Name in Italics, Base URL.
Example: "I, Borg." Star Trek: The Next Generation, season 5, episode 23, Paramount Pictures, 1992. Netflix, www.netflix.com.
Format: "Episode Name." Name of Television Show, season #, episode #, TV Show Producer, Date. Company Name app.
Example: "Secrets of Ancient Egypt." Journey with Dylan Dreyer, season 1, episode 3, Million to One Productions,15 Oct. 2016. Peacock TV app.
Format: "Episode Name." Name of Television Show, season #, episode #, TV Show Producer, Date.Database Name in Italic, URL.
Example: "Episode 11." Beowulf, season 1, episode 11, ITV Studios, 13 Mar. 2016.Films on Demand,fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=97845&xtid=151176.
Format: Title of Film. Directed by Director, Production Company, Year of Release. Streaming Website Name in Italics, Base URL.
*Note: You do not have to put the director first (in the author's place). You can start with the title of the film instead, or list the most relevant person, like the director or main actor (i.e. Pitt, Brad, performer.)
*Note: You can usually omit the http:// unless needed to hyperlink.
Example: 13th. Directed by Ava Duvernay, 2016. Netflix, www.netflix.com.
Example: Booksmart. Directed by Olivia Wilde, Annapurna Pictures and Gloria Sanchez Productions, 2019. Hulu, www.hulu.com.
Example: To Kill a Mockingbird. Directed by Robert Mulligan, Universal Pictures, 1962. Amazon Prime Video, www.amazon.com.
Format: Host(s), host. "Episode Title." Podcast Name, season number, episode number, Publisher, Publication Date, URL.
Example: Fischer, Jenna and Angela Kinsey, hosts. "Two Weeks." Office Ladies, episode 97, Earwolf Podcast Network, 27 Oct. 2021, www.officeladies.com/episodes/2021/27/10/episode-97-two-weeks.
This in-text citation information will get you started, but see our full In-text Citation Guide for more information and additional examples.
Place the author’s last name and page number in parenthesis. If the in-text citation is at the end of a sentence, place the period outside the parenthesis.
Example 1: (Hennessy 81).
Example 2: (Hennessy 81-82).
If a source has no page numbers, omit the page number. Keep in mind, most electronic sources do not include pages.
Example 1: ("Everyday Victims")
Example 2: (Jones)
If a source has numbered paragraphs instead of having page numbers or if your instructor requires it, give the paragraph number in your in-text citation. Use par. or pars. in front of the number to indicate paragraphs. You can also do this with numbered sections or lines. If your in-text citation includes the author/title, use a comma to separate that information from the paragraph numbers.
Example 1: (Jones, pars. 112-113).
Example 2: ("Everyday Victims," par. 45).
Note: Some SCC Instructors require you to use paragraph numbers for sources that do not provide page numbers even if the paragraphs aren't specifically numbered. If the paragraphs aren't numbered, count from the top of the article and use that number. Always follow your instructor's requirements.
If the source has no author, your in-text citation will use the title of the source that starts your works cited entry. The title may appear in the sentence itself or, abbreviated, before the page number in parenthesis.
Example 1: (“Noon” 508).
Example 2: (Faulkner’s Novels 25).
Example 3: (“Climate Model Simulations").
If the entry on the Works Cited page begins with the names of two authors, include both last names in the in-text citation, connected by and.
Example: (Dorris and Erdrich 23).
If the source has three or more authors, include the first author’s last name followed by et al.
Example: (Burdick et al. 42).
Giles Campus | 864.592.4764 | Toll Free 866.542.2779 | Contact Us
Copyright © 2025 Spartanburg Community College. All rights reserved.
Call 864.592.4764
Text 864.756.8008
