4. Find Literature Criticism

Once you find your history source, you will also need to find 2-3 literary criticism sources that actually analyze the short story itself. For this you'll search our literature databases or look for books/ebooks at the library.

Search Tips / Keywords

Before you start searching, let's talk about a little bit about how to search for literary criticism for your story.

Basic Search: a good first search is just the name of the short story in quotation marks, followed by the word 'and' and the author's last name.

"A Rose for Emily" and Faulkner

This general search will show you everything we have on a certain short story (sometimes there is more than others). If there are only 5 articles, you can browse through them. If there are 100, you may want to narrow your search a bit by using keywords from your topic.

Narrowed Search: "A Rose for Emily" and Faulkner and Death [Remember to search many times with different keywords!]

Remember, though, not to count on keywords too much. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Literature Databases and Book Sources

These first 3 databases are the best place to start when looking for literary criticism.

Gale Literature Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
This database contains information on authors, their works, criticisms of their works, and various other aspects of literature.
Bloom's Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Writings of Harold Bloom as well as other critics. Features author biographies, overviews, synopses, analyses and literary criticism of thousands of works from novels to poetry to plays, video segments, in-depth full-text entries on literary topics and themes and a literary timeline. Proxy Bypass
Gale eBooks: Literature Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This is the database that contains Short Stories for Students. Remember that it has a few essays of literary criticism for each short story. If they relate to your topic, you're welcome to use these essays as sources in your paper.

Other Literature Criticism Resources

After searching the first 3 databases above, if you'd like additional resources to search for information about your short story, try these resources.

Gale Literature Criticism
Gale Literature Criticism contains centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
EBSCO Literature Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 2 EBSCO literary databases at once: Literary Reference Center and Academic Search Premier. Proxy Bypass

All Literature Databases

Find Books

Use the search box below to search for books at the SCC Library.

E-Books

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of over 260,000 eBooks including a variety of subjects including history, business, social science, political science, literature, science, medical, technical subjects, etc.. Proxy Bypass
EBook Central
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250,000 eBooks including a variety of subjects including social science, history, literature, business/management, religion, science, medicine, fine arts, education, etc.