4. Find Sources

Once you've narrowed your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use for your project. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Basic Search: a good first search is just the name of the play in quotation marks, followed by the word 'AND' and the author's last name.

"A Doll's House" AND Ibsen

This general search will show you everything we have on a certain play (sometimes there is more than others). If there are only 5 articles, you can browse through them. If there are 100, you may want to narrow your search a bit by using keywords from your topic.

Narrowed Search: "A Doll's House" AND Ibsen AND marriage [Remember to search many times with different keywords!]

Remember, though, not to count on keywords too much. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are the best place to start.

Gale Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature allows you to search all of Gale’s literary databases and literature eBook titles in one database.
Gale eBooks: Literature Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks included literature criticism series: Short Stories for Students, Drama For Students, Poetry For Students, Novels for Students, Epics for Students and Shakespeare for Students.
Bloom's Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Writings of Harold Bloom as well as other critics. Features author biographies, overviews, synopses, analyses and literary criticism of thousands of works from novels to poetry to plays, video segments, in-depth full-text entries on literary topics and themes and a literary timeline. Proxy Bypass
EBSCO Literature Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 2 EBSCO literary databases at once: Literary Reference Source and Academic Search Premier. Proxy Bypass
National Theatre Collection (from Drama Online)
- This link opens in a new window
50 full-length streaming videos of live theatre performances from the National Theatre (London, England), including Antigone, Hamlet, Frankenstein, and a Streetcar Named Desire.

Recommended Books

Henrik Ibsen: 'a Doll's House'. Literature Insights by S. H. Siddall
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1282040480
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Ibsen and the Modern Self by Kwok-Kan Tam
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9627707813
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Readings on A Doll's House by Hayley R. Mitchell
Call Number: Giles Stacks - Circulating PT8861 .R43 1999
ISBN: 0737700491
Publication Date: 1998-09-01

Search for Books

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.