4. Find Sources

Once you've narrowed your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use for your paper. You can also check out the tab with recommended books and ebooks as well as search the catalog. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are recommended places to start. The databases have search features to limit your search to a specific type of article.

Gale Power Search
A good general database that covers many subjects, especially current new issues. Has magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as some reference material. Full-text content.
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Proxy Bypass

Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Credo Reference
Articles from almost 600 reference books, covering various subjects.
Newsbank: Access World News
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories including SC Newspapers of Herald -Journal (Spartanburg), The State (Columbia), and The Post and Courier (Charleston).
U.S. Major Dailies
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five U.S. national and regional newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1980 for some titles.
Statista
With access to over million statistics on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 credible sources, this database specialized in market and consumer data, statistics, infographics, reports, plus company insights to support research and help to find statistics, charts, graphs, and other visuals to integrate into papers and presentations.

Social Media Algorithms by Adele Kuzmiakova (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9781779566270

Publication Date: 2025-03-17
From Algorithms to Thinking Machines: The New Digital Power. by Talia Domenico
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9798400708589

Publication Date: 2023-10-29

Books and eBooks

Co-Intelligence: living and working with AI by Ethan Mollick
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9780593716724

Publication Date: 2024-04-02
Rise of Generative AI and ChatGPT : Understand How Generative Al and ChatGPT Are Transforming and Reshaping the Business World by Utpal Chakraborty; Soumyadeep Roy; Sumit Kumar
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9789355517982

Publication Date: 2023-04-05
Consciousness and Creativity in Artificial Intelligence : the cognitive side of knowledge management by Jon-Arild Johannessen
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9781804551615

Publication Date: 2023-01-27
Artificial Intelligence and Intellectual Property by Lee, Jyh-An, author.; Liu, Kung-Chung, 1961- author.; Hilty, Reto M., author.
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 0192644289

Publication Date: 2021
Redesigning AI : Work, Democracy, and Justice in the Age of Automation by Daron Acemoglu
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9781946511638

Publication Date: 2021-05-25

On Privacy and Technology by Solove, Daniel J.
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9780197771709

Publication Date: 2025
The Privacy Pirates : How Your Privacy Is Being Stolen and What You Can Do about It by Gruis, Leslie
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9781680538250

Publication Date: 2023-05-10
Digital Rights and Privacy by Liz Sonneborn (Editor)
Call Number: All Three Campuses: Stacks HQ784 .I58 D5558 2024

ISBN: 9781534509535

Publication Date: 2023-12-30

At this point, it is almost impossible to avoid having a digital footprint. Social media, streaming websites, navigation applications, online shopping websites, and search engines generate a large amount of data about users' digital habits. Tech companies have used this data to 'optimize' their products and allow them to better predict users' behaviors, but the collection and use of data has raised new questions about the right to digital privacy.
Our Data, Ourselves : A Personal Guide to Digital Privacy. by Jacqueline D. Lipton
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9780520976849

Publication Date: 2022-09-27
Privacy, Data Harvesting, and You by Jeri Freedman
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9781508188322

Publication Date: 2019-07-30

Masculinities and Mental Health in Young Men : From Echo Chambers to Evidence by Zac Seidler (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9783031640520

Publication Date: 2024-08-28
Challenges for Digital Citizenship and Ethics : Social Media, Deep Fakes, and Virtual Communities by Maja Pucelj (Editor); Rado Bohinc (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9798369379172

Publication Date: 2024-10-23
Community Engagement in the Online Space by Michelle Dennis (Editor); James Halbert (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 1668451913

Publication Date: 2023-02-17
Echo Chamber and Polarization in Social Media : An Agent-Based Modeling Approach by Al Atiqi, Muhammad
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9789819917693

Publication Date: 2023-05-30
The Case for Community in Online Spaces : Taking Back Connection by Brooke Dunbar-Treadwell
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9781666934687

Publication Date: 2023-08-01
Psychoanalysis and Digital Culture by Jacob Johanssen
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 1351052055

Publication Date: 2018-10-31

ohanssen argues that digital media fundamentally shape our subjectivities on affective and unconscious levels, and he critically analyses phenomena such as television viewing, Twitter use, affective labour on social media, and data-mining

Market-Oriented Disinformation Research by Carlos Diaz Ruiz
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781032828541

Publication Date: 2025-03-25

This volume explores the spread of false or misleading information online through the lens of marketing theory and consumer research.
Truth, Lies, and Technology by Scientific American Editors
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781684169535

Publication Date: 2023-01-30

This enlightening title aims to guide readers in exploring how technology such as deepfakes and social media algorithms can convincingly distort the truth. They will not only learn to recognize Internet fabrications but also how to stop their spread.
Fake News, Bias, and Media Literacy by Jennifer Lombardo
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781502657428

Publication Date: 2020-07-30

Social Media and Youth Mental Health by Vicki Harrison (Editor); Anne Collier (Editor); Steven Adelsheim (Editor)
Call Number: E-book

ISBN: 9781615375028

Publication Date: 2024-07-17
Social Media, Freedom of Speech, and the Future of Our Democracy by Lee C. Bollinger (Editor); Geoffrey R. Stone (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9780197621097

Publication Date: 2022-08-05

Bollinger and Stone argue that in determining a path forward, it is important to remember that the last time American society encountered major new communications technology-television and radio-the government established a federal agency to provide oversight and to issue regulations to protect and promote 'the public interest
Social Media Is about People by Dana Schmidt; Cassandra M. Bailey
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 9781637422625

Publication Date: 2022-07-07

Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Twitter, TikTok--the one thing that unites them all is that they are used by people, real human beings. Too often today, marketers are focused on algorithms and analytics instead of simply trying to help their company meaningfully connect with the humans that are going to help them grow
The Social Media Revolution by Anna Collins
Call Number: e-Book

ISBN: 1502657589

Publication Date: 2020-07-30

Social media has become an integral part of life in the 21st century. Nearly every young adult has one or more social media accounts, making it imperative that they learn the best ways to protect themselves and their private information. It is equally important to highlight the good that young adults can do with social media.
LikeWar : the weaponization of social media by P. W. Singer; Emerson Brooking
Call Number: Gile Campus: HM742 .S5745 2018

ISBN: 9781328695741

Publication Date: 2018-10-02

"Social media has been weaponized, as state hackers and rogue terrorists have seized upon Twitter and Facebook to create chaos and destruction. This urgent report is required reading, from defense expert P.W. Singer and Council on Foreign Relations fellow Emerson Brooking."
Are Social Networking Sites Harmful? by Noah Berlatsky (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book

ISBN: 0737776234

Publication Date: 2016-04-27

How do we navigate a world in which social media data collection often seems to violate privacy? To what degree does social media encourage political reform and to what degree can it be used by authoritarian governments to suppress dissent? Social media complicates our social, cultural, and political lives in vast and often difficult-to-understand ways.

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.