Find Articles (Databases)

Databases for Educators

Find information about early care education, teaching, classroom management, etc.

EBSCO Education Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 4 databases at once! ERIC, Teacher Reference Center, Professional Development, and Education Full Text. Academic journals, news, reports, etc. in teaching and education. Proxy Bypass
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources.

See More Education Databases
Browse all of the library's databases.

Databases for Children

These are resources you might use when working with children to help them learn about a topic. You could incorporate these into lesson plans.

Britannica ImageQuest Junior
This database has thousands of rights-cleared images & videos that young learners (preK to 2nd grade) can use to discover the world. It covers science topics like animals and objects in the world which could be used by students in presentations. For off-campus access, you must enter in Spartanburg Community College before entering your email and password.
Gale in Context: Elementary
- This link opens in a new window
Kids InfoBits is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the subject-based topic tree. This database covers geography, current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
PebbleGo Animals, Science and Social Studies
This resource ideal for K-5th grade includes three collections. One on animals with over 300 articles that support animal classification, behavior, and habitat lessons. One on science with topics such as earth and space science, inventions, math, shapes, technology and more. One on social studies topics with over 200 articles including country and US symbols, money, careers, and more.
PebbleGo Next Biographies
Explore the hundreds of curriculum-connected Biography articles designed for 3th-5th grade needs in categories such as Advocates and History Makers, African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native Americans, Artists and Writers, Athletes, Explorers and Pioneers, and more.
Primary Search
- This link opens in a new window
Primary Search provides full text for more than 60 popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Updated daily. Provided through EBSCO.
TeachingBooks
- This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks is a database of resources for children's and young adults to find information on books and their authors/illustrators. The resource collection includes short movies, audio book readings, book discussion guides, author and book information plus more.
Tumble Book Library
Tumble Book Library has children’s e-books for grades K-6, as well as national geographic videos, graphic novels, etc.
TumbleMath
TumbleMath has a comprehensive collection of math stories targeting Kindergarten through Grade 6. The TumbleBook format combines animation, narration, and sound to create a compelling and enticing story book for students of all ages.The books are accompanied by supplementary materials such as lesson plans and quizzes
DISCUS Generic Username and password. Link must be updated every August 1.
World Almanac for Kids Elementary
- This link opens in a new window
For elementary school students, this database provides illustrated articles, videos, interactives, Fun Facts, and more—in a colorful, kid-friendly format perfect for helping young children develop online research skills. Also includes teacher resources. Proxy Bypass
World Almanac for Kids Intermediate
- This link opens in a new window
For intermediate-level students, this database provides reference content along with interactive games, videos, science projects, etc. Also includes teacher resources. Proxy Bypass

Periodicals

Young Children
Call Number: Giles Periodical Shelves