Skip to main content
ask a librarian email questions

COL 103 Career Project

a guide to resources for the Career Project in College 103

5. Cite Your Sources in MLA Format

Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format. More examples are found on the MLA guide.

How to Cite an Article from Ferguson's Database

Format: "Title of Article." Title of Book, edition. Title of Database.

Example: "Medical Assistants." Encyclopedia of Career and Vocational Guidance, 17th ed. Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center.


How to Cite a Journal/Magazine Article from a Database

Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic).


How to Cite a Website

Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.

Example: "Medical Assistant." Occupational Outlook Handbook, Bureau of Labor Statistics, 12 Apr. 2019, www.bls.gov/ooh/healthcare/medical-assistants.htm.

*Note:  Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.


Citing an Image from the Web

Format: Creator(s). “Title of Image.” Website Title in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date, URL.

Example: “Kim Kardashian.” Vanity Fair, Condé Nast, 11 Jan. 2004, www.vanityfair.com.

Example 2: Lange, Dorothea. "Migrant Mother." Prints & Photographs Reading Room Collection, Library of Congress, 11 Jan. 2004, montevideo.usembassy.gov.

*Note: For images without titles, create a descriptive title in plain text – no italics, no quotes.


Citing an Image from a Database

Format: Creator(s). "Title of Image." Title of Source (if given), Publisher, Date, Database Name.

Example: Johnson, Clinton. "Boston Street Scene." Library of Congress, 1895, Credo Reference.

*Note: Italicize titles of formal art work.

Additional MLA Examples

MLA Handouts