Library Career Information Worksheet

Library Career Information Worksheet
This is the worksheet (Microsoft Word file) that you will complete in your College Skills class as part of the career project.
Library Career Information Worksheet Directions
This document includes step-by-step instructions that will walk you through how to complete the Library Career Information Worksheet.

Part 1: Use the "Library Catalog" to Find Information for Your Field

In this first part, you'll go to the library's website (https://libguides.sccsc.edu/home) and select the “Open Library Catalog” (or use the link below). Use the Library Catalog to search for information that relates to your career or would be useful to you in your career (i.e you could search for teacher or you could search for information that'd be useful for a teacher such as lesson plans). Follow the directions on the worksheet to answer the questions about the Library Catalog.

Library Catalog
Search for materials in SCC's collection - including books, ebooks, articles, videos, and more. Also manage your library account - including renew or request items, view loans and fines, or request materials from other libraries.

Part 2: Use Ferguson's Career Guidance Center Database to Research Career

In this second part, use one of the library's databases, Ferguson's Career Guidance Center (link below), to search for information about your career. You will search for your career and choose one article from this database. Use it to complete the questions on your worksheet.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
- This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries. Proxy Bypass

Tips:

Search for a career or job using the occupation's title as your search terms. For example, you would search 'nurse' rather than 'nursing,' 'teacher' rather than 'education.'
Suggested search terms for hard to search jobs:
- Mechatronics - Mechanical Engineering Technician, Robotics Technician, Engineering Technicians, CNC Programmer
- Computer Science - Computer Programmer, Software Engineer, Computer Systems Analyst, Computer Network Administrator

Part 3: Use Occupational Outlook Handbook Website to Research Career

In this third part, use one of the Occupational Outlook Handbook (link below) from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, to search for information about your career. You will search for your career and choose one article from this database. Use it to complete the questions on your worksheet.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
This website can help you find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of jobs.

Part 4: Reflection

In this fourth part, write 5-10 sentences describing what you think about the career. Be specific and pull examples from the article. What did you learn about your future career? What do you like/not like about it? How suited do you think you are to this career? Tell whether or not you think you would enjoy this career, and tell why.