Skip to main content
ask a librarian email questions

Find Articles (Databases)

Use the Subject List and the Alphabetical List below to help you find the best database(s) to use for your research.

Off-Campus Access

Off-Campus Login Information

Username: Your SCC Web ID (on the back of your SCC ID card), example: absmith [or your SCC email]

Password: This is the same password you use for the Portal and D2L

To Log In...

  1. Start at the library's homepage.
  2. Click on "Find Articles (Databases)".
  3. Click on the subject you need.
  4. Click on the name of the database you'd like to search.
  5. A login page should appear, asking for a username and password.off-campus database login page
  6. Your log in is your SCC Web ID and Portal password. Not sure what it is? You can use the links below to look it up on the Portal's main page.
  7. Once logged in, you should then go directly into the database you chose. If you have any trouble logging in, please check below for issues that may be causing you trouble.

Please Contact Us if you are having trouble with off-campus access. You can also email us with our Ask A Librarian service.

What is My Username & Password?

Log-in Information: Make sure you are using the correct username and password. The username will be your SCC Web ID (on the back of your SCC ID card, example: absmith). Alternatively, your SCC email address should also work as the username. The password will be the same password you use to log into the Portal or D2L.

You can also look up your Web ID and reset your password on the SCC Portal Log In page. Look for the links that say 'Need your Web ID' and 'Forgot Your Password.'

Troubleshooting Tips

Firewalls: Firewalls can cause problems accessing databases from off campus. With a firewall running on a particular computer, you generally have to cut the whole thing off or know how to configure the firewall to allow access to specific internet addresses. You may need to turn off your firewall in order to access some of the library databases. Note:: This is particularly a problem if you are at your workplace or another school or institution. Many businesses and schools have firewalls that will prevent you from accessing our databases. You usually will have better luck on your home computer.


Javascript Enabled?: JavaScript must be enabled in your browser to access Library databases from off campus.

Use this button to see if you have JavaScript enabled.

  • If it is enabled, a message box will appear that says "You have JavaScript enabled and can properly use this website!"

  • If it is not enabled, no message box will appear. To use this site properly, you will need to enable JavaScripting on your browser.

How to Enable Javascript

  • Internet Explorer : Go to Tools, Internet Options, Security, Custom Level. Under Scripting, select Enable for all.

  • Firefox: Go to Tools, Internet Options, Content tab, check box "enable java script".

  • Chrome: Tool button, Options, Under the Hood, Content Settings, Javascript, check "allow all sites to run javascript."


Cookies Enabled?: Cookies must be enabled in your browser to access Library databases from off campus.

Use this button to see if you have cookies enabled.

  • If it is enabled, a message box will appear that says "You have cookies enabled and can properly use this website!"

  • If it is not enabled, a message box will appear that says "Cookies ARE NOT currently enabled! Please read below on this page for information on how to enable cookies." To use this site properly, you will need to enable cookies on your browser.

    • Note: JavaScripting must be enabled to use the Cookie Test.

How to Enable Browser Cookies

Cookies Enabled is a default setting in both Internet Explorer, Netscape and Firefox. If your cookies are disabled, follow these steps to enable your browser cookies:

  • Internet Explorer - go to Tools, Internet Options, and click on the Privacy Tab. Here you can change your settings for accepting or blocking cookies -- see advanced options.

  • Firefox - click Tools, then Options, then Privacy tab. Default settings should allow cookies -- see custom settings if you want to change.

  • Chrome: Tool button, Options, Under the Hood, Content Settings, Cookies, check "allow local data to be set."


Privacy Settings: If your privacy settings are too high, it can block the authentication process needed to allow you to access databases from off campus.
In Internet Explorer try going to Tools -- Internet options -- then clicking the "privacy" tab and lowering the setting (often this will be something you can drag up and down).


Internet Explorer Version 7: IE 7 is more restrictive by nature. If you are using IE 7 try lowering your security settings if you have problems accessing databases from off campus.
You can also check to see if Integrated Windows Authentication is enabled. To do this select Tools, Internet Options, click the Advanced Tab and scroll to the Security heading. Make sure the Enable Integrated Windows Authentication option is checked.


AOL Users: AOL and other web browsers can affect the authentication process. Try opening Internet Explorer while you are connected to AOL and working through Internet Explorer.


Add On Toolbars: Try removing any "add on" toolbars (like Google and Yahoo). You should be able to right click by the tool bar and uncheck any add on toolbars that may be loaded on your computer.


Vendor agreements require users to be registered patrons of Spartanburg Community College. Registered patrons are SCC students, faculty, staff  or community patrons in our three county (Spartanburg, Cherokee or Union) service area.