SCC Research Guides: The Research Process: 5. In-Depth Research

In-Depth Research

After you complete your background research and have a working research question and thesis statement, you are ready to begin more in-depth research!

In-depth research involves searching for longer, more specific sources to find information about your topic. There are many places where you can do in-depth research, including the library catalog and the library databases.

Databases

The library has many databases that can help you find sources; some are very specific to certain topics and others are more general. Below is a list of databases that would be a good choice for in-depth research.

EBSCO General Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Proxy Bypass
Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Gale Power Search
- This link opens in a new window
A good general database that covers many subjects, especially current new issues. Has magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as some reference material. Full-text content.
Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.