Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in APA format:
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL
Note: If using a print article or database article use the DOI (if no DOI, skip). If using a non-database article (from a website) with no DOI, use the URL instead.
Print or Electronic Article with a DOI given
Example: Bassett, S. D. (2007). Exploring the issue of confidentiality. Nurse Educator, 32(4), 147-153. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126
Print Article or Article from a Database with no DOI given
Example: Bozkurt, O. (2007). Wired for work. Society, 44(2), 33-40.
Electronic Article from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given
Example: Bass, J. D. (2020). Exploring mental health. American Nursing, 3(8), 47-56. https://www.americannursing.com/issue58649/exploring-mental-health
More Information on Citing Journal Articles in APA
Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Website Name. URL
Example: Harrar, S. (2007, July 5). Better heart health. CNN, http://cnn.com/better-heart-201562
Example: The secret to a long life. (2020, August 10). American Cancer Society, http://americancancersociety.com/secret-long-life-356892
Group Author: Mayo Clinic. (2011, June 23). Absence seizure. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/201569
Access Date: Smith, J. D. (n.d.). Considerations for new nurses. Career Spot. Retrieved July 3, 2019, from https://www.careerspot.org/nursing213659/
Government: National Cancer Institute. (2020). Lung cancer update (NIH Publication No. 20-6548). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. https://www.cancer.gov/lungcancer206528/
More Information on Citing Website Articles in APA
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number). Publisher. DOI/URL.
*Note: If no DOI, skip. If using a non-database (online) E-Book include the URL.
Example: Duclos-Miller, P. A. (2006). How to cope with stress (2nd ed., Vol. 2). Greenwood. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560
Example: Sallan, B. A. (2020). The psychology of a child (3rd ed.). Greenwood.
Example: Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (Vol. 2). American Psychological Association. https://www.feminist-therapy.com/book245345
More Information on Citing Books in APA
Format: Author(s) of Part. (Year). Title of part. In Editor's Name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number, pp. page numbers of part). Publisher. DOI/URL
Print Book or Ebook with a DOI given
Example: Turner, J. B. (2006). Diaper rash. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (3rd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 1169-1171). Thomson Gale. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560
Ebook from a Database with no DOI given
Example: Weinstock, R., Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry. In R. B. Rosner & J. R. Gilbert (Eds.), Forensic psychiatry (2nd ed., pp. 7-13). Mosby.
Ebook from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given
Example: Stockton, L., Smith, F. B., & Fields, J. A. (2020). Dementia. In Aging conditions (p. 13). Parsons. http://www.dementiabook.com
More Information on Citing a Part of a Book in APA
Place the author’s last name and the year in parenthesis. If the in-text citation is at the end of a sentence, place the period outside the parenthesis.
Example 1: Chickens have been known to cross roads (Jordon, 2017).
Example 2: Jordon (2017) discussed how chickens like to cross roads.
If a source has two authors, use an ampersand (&) between the names in the parenthesis. Use "and" when referring to the authors in the text of your paper. Include both names every time you cite the source.
Example 1: The chicken was forced to cross the road (Smith & Jones, 2013).
Example 2: Smith and Jones (2013) also discovered that the chicken crossed the road.
When a source has three or more authors, list the first author followed by et al. (Latin for "and others").
Example 1: The chicken was forced to cross the road (Adams et al., 2009).
Example 2: Adams et al. (2009) discovered who forced the chicken to cross the road.
When a source's author is a company, organization , or other group, the name of that group goes in the author position.
Example 1: The chicken was forced to cross the road (Stanford University, 2020)
Example 2: Stanford University (2020) discovered who forced the chicken to cross the road.
If a source has no author and is listed on the reference page by its title, use the first few words of the title and the year. Put double quotation marks ( " ) around article or chapter titles and italicize periodical and book titles. Unlike the reference page, the main words of the title should be capitalized.
Example of a book without an author given: The chicken made a conscious decision to cross the road (The Big Book of Chickens, 2015).
Example of an article with no author given: The chicken did not want to cross the road ("The Case of the Chicken and the Road," 2016).
When a source does not have a date listed, use n.d. in the in-text citation in place of the date.
Example of an article with no date given: Chickens often cross roads when they are hungry (Johnson et al., n.d.).
Example of an article with no author and no date given: Chickens first began their passage across the road in the late 11th century ("History of the Chicken," n.d.).
If you are planning to use MLA format to cite your sources, you can find information about MLA format in the SCC MLA Guide.
Giles Campus | 864.592.4764 | Toll Free 866.542.2779 | Contact Us
Copyright © 2024 Spartanburg Community College. All rights reserved.
Call 864.592.4764
Text 864.756.8008