Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article/Page.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example 1: “Apple Overview.” Glassdoor, 2008-2023, www.glassdoor.com/Overview/Working-at-Apple-EI_IE1138.11,16.htm. Accessed 21 Sept. 2023.
Example 2: “Our Company.” Microsoft, 2022, www.microsoft.com/en-us/about/company.
Example 3: “Delta Air Lines, Inc." Google Finance, 6 Apr. 2023, www.google.com/finance/quote/DAL:NYSE.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date or the information changes frequently for example stock quote, rating, or job listing, add an access date at the end. Use abbreviations for months with names longer than four letters. URL. Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Format: "Title of Company Report." Database Name, Publisher, Date, URL.
Example: “05-195-7769. Walmart Inc.” Mergent Intellect, Mergent, July 2022, www.mergentintellect.com/index.php/search/companyDetails/51957769.
Format (Company Profile): Title of Company Profile. Year, Database, URL.
Example (Company Profile): Apple Inc. Company Profile. 2022, Gale Business Insights, go.gale.com/ps/profileDocumentdocId=Gale%7CWXAHBA886749614&userGroupName=spartechcl.
Format (Financial Info): Title of Financial Statement. Publisher, Year(s). Database, URL.
"Apple Inc." International Directory of Company Histories, edited by Drew D. Johnson, vol. 238, St. James Press, 2021. Gale Business: Insights, link.gale.com/apps/doc/I2501326353/GBIB?u=spartechcl&sid=bookmark-GBIB&xid=2b663bc6.
Format: Title of Report. Publisher, Date. Series Title. Database Name, URL.
Example: H&R Block Inc. Marketline, 15 Apr. 2020. Company Profile. Business Source Premier, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=dmhco&AN=A3AFE615-7D03-4D12-83B9-FF6451E6A59B&site=ehost-live&custid=s9007306.
Example: CBRE Group, Inc SWOT Analysis. Marketline, 19 Mar. 2020. Business Source Premier, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=buh&AN=141336902&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s9007306.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Example: Eadicicco, Lisa. "What a Former Iphone Engineer Learned from Working at Apple." Time, 21 Dec. 2015. Business Source Premier, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=buh&AN=111881171&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s9007306.
Works Cited 1: “Apple Inc." Business Insights: Essentials, Gale, 26 Sept. 2021, bi.gale.com/essentials/company/300559?u=spartechcl.
Works Cited 2: Apple Inc. Marketline, 24 Sep. 2021. Company Report. Business Source Premier, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=buh&AN=153660544&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s9007306.
In-Text 1: ("Apple Inc.," Business Insights)
In-Text 2: (Apple Inc., Marketline)
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
How to Cite a Short Story From Your Textbook
Format: Author(s). "Title of Short Story." The Norton Introduction to Literature, edited by Kelly J. Mays, shorter 14th ed., W. W. Norton, 2022, pp. 123-45.
How to Cite a Journal Article from a Database
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
How to Cite Part of a Book, Ebook, or Encyclopedia
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
How to Cite a Play From Your Textbook
Format: Author(s). Title of Play. The Norton Introduction to Literature, edited by Kelly J. Mays, shorter 14th ed., W. W. Norton, 2022, pp. 123-45.
How to Cite a Journal Article
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
How to Cite Part of a Book, Ebook, or Encyclopedia
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic). URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Example: Marvel, Laura. The Salem Witch Trials. Greenhaven Press, 2003.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Great American Trials (eBook) Example: Evans, Colin. "Chicago Seven Trial: 1969." Great American Trials, 2003, pp. 586-90. History Reference Source, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=khh&AN=39252069&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s9007306.
Crimes and Trials of the Century (eBook) Example: Wolf, Kelly. "The Lindbergh Baby Murder Case: A Crime of the Century." Crimes and Trials of the Century, edited by Frankie Y. Bailey and Steven M. Chermak, vol. 2, Greenwood Press, 2007, pp. 153-67. EBSCO Ebook Collection, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=nlebk&AN=218197&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s9007306.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Famous Trials Website Example 1 (Trial Overview): Linder, Douglas O. "Leo Frank Trial (1913)." Famous Trials, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, 1995-2023, www.famous-trials.com/leo-frank.
Famous Trials Website Example 2 (Primary Sources): "Testimony of George Epps." Famous Trials, edited by Douglas O. Linder, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, 1995-2023, www.famous-trials.com/leo-frank/14-excerpts/41-eppstestimony. Transcript.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper in Italics, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name in Italics (if electronic), URL.
*Note: For local newspapers, if the city is not included in the title of the paper add the city in square brackets after the newspaper title: The Herald [Rock Hill]
*Note: For articles published by the Associated Press or other News Agency, do not list an author.
Example: Pantazi, Andrew. "Fired IT Director Who Testified in George Zimmerman Trial Will Sue State Attorney's Office, Lawyer Says." Florida Times-Union [Jacksonville], 17 July 2003, p. A3. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=n5h&AN=2W6559740466&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s9007306.
Chronicling America Example: "Boy Slayers Calm as State Demands They Die by Noose." Evening Star [Washington, D.C.], 23 July 1924, pp. 1-2. Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, Library of Congress, chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn83045462/1924-07-23/ed-1/seq-1/.
*Note: Chronicling America is a website repository of digitized newspapers by the Library of Congress. Because it's a website not an SCC database, we list the publisher and URL of the site.
Entire book: Gordon, Jon. The Energy Bus. John Wiley & Sons, 2007.
Part of the book: Gordon, Jon. "Bus Tickets." The Energy Bus, John Wiley & Sons, 2007, pp. 55-60.
Entire ebook: Gordon, Jon. The Energy Bus. John Wiley & Sons, 2007. eBook Academic Collection, URL.
Part of the book: Gordon, Jon. "Bus Tickets." The Energy Bus, John Wiley & Sons, 2007, pp. 55-60. eBook Academic Collection, URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: "Title of Article/Section." Title of Database in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example: “Peru.” Culturegrams, Proquest, 2017, online-culturegrams-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/world/world_country.php?&contid=7&wmn=South_America&cn=Peru&cid=125.
Format: Author(s). Title of Website in Italics. Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example: Kayak. 2017, www.kayak.com.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example (Gov't): “Brazil.” U.S. Passports & International Travel, Bureau of Consular Affairs, U.S. Dept. of State, 24 May 2017, travel.state.gov/content/passports/en/country/brazil.html.
Example: Walker, Jennifer. “Exploring Hungary: Day Trips from Budapest.” Lonely Planet, Nov. 2017, www.lonelyplanet.com/hungary/budapest/around-budapest-1341169/travel-tips-and-articles/exploring-hungary-day-trips-from-budapest/40625c8c-8a11-5710-a052-1479d276b492.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
Example: . Nobel, John, et al. Mexico. 11th ed., Lonely Planet. 2008.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Example: . Nobel, John, et al. "Mexico City." Mexico, 11th ed., Lonely Planet. 2008, pp. 62-139.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Artist. Title of Artwork. Date of Composition.Title of Source (if given), Publisher (if different than source), Publication Date. Database Title, URL.
Example: Monet, Claude. Water Lilies. 1889. Monet's Greatest Works, Simon Publishing, 2016. Credo, search.credoreference.com/content/entry/bridgemandeag/water_
lilies_by_claude_monet_detail_1840_1926/3.
Format: Artist. Title of Artwork. Date of Composition. Title of Website, Publisher of Website (if different than title), Publication Date, URL.
Example: Da Vinci, Leonardo. Mona Lisa. 1503. Treasures of the World, PBS, 2016, www.pbs.org/treasures.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Format: Artist. Title of Artwork. Date of Composition. Title of Book, edited by Editor's Name, edition/version, volume #, Publisher, Publication Year, page number(s). Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
Example: Warhol, Andy. Marilyn. 1967. Twentieth-Century American Art, edited by Patrick Frank, Oxford UP, 2014, p. 237. eBook Collection, pascal-scc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01PASCAL_SCC/ju4hnn/alma9911648539505611.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
The artwork in your presentation should be labeled as follows. Remember to still include a Works Cited page entry for each artwork in addition to labeling the work within the presentation.
Label artwork as follows:
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Example: Parsloe, Sarah M. "How Fishy is it? Risk Communication and Perceptions of Genetically Engineered Salmon." Food Safety: a Reference Handbook, by Nina E. Redman and Michele Morrone, 3rd ed., ABC-CLIO, 2017, pp. 121-126. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,sso&db=nlebk&AN=1457340&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic).
Example: Melugin, Jessica."Net Neutrality is Bad for Consumers." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, 2018. Opposing Viewpoints in Context, link.gale.com/apps/doc/IQBUHE201042021/OVIC?u=spartechcl&sid=bookmark-OVIC&xid=ba4e19e4.
Format: "Title of Article." Database Name, Publisher, Date of Publication, URL.
Example: "Childhood Obesity." Issues & Controversies, Infobase, 6 Mar. 2023, icof.infobase.com/articles/QXJ0aWNsZVRleHQ6MTY1MDU=.
Format: Creator(s). "Title of Graph." Title of Source in Italics, Publisher, Date. Database Name, URL.
Example: "Estimated Volume of Food Waste Generated in the United States from 2016 to 2019 (in Millions Tons)." 2019 Wasted Food Report, Environmental Protection Agency, Apr. 2023. Statista, https://www.statista.com/statistics/1386235/amount-of-food-waste-generated-in-the-united-states/.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Example: Fowler, Betheny, and Robert Cox. "School Meals Will be Free at Multiple Spartanburg Co. Districts." 7 News WSPA.COM, Nexstar Media Group, 27 July 2023, www.wspa.com/news/school/students-in-spartanburg-school-district-1-to-receive-free-meals/.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Print Book Example: Eboch, M. M., editor. Green Politics. 1st ed., Greenhaven Publishing, 2022.
E-Book Example: Blue Spruce, George. Searching for My Destiny. University of Nebraska Press, 2009. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,sso&db=e900xww&AN=298282&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Example: Parsloe, Sarah M. "How Fishy is it? Risk Communication and Perceptions of Genetically Engineered Salmon." Food Safety: a Reference Handbook, by Nina E. Redman and Michele Morrone, 3rd ed., ABC-CLIO, 2017, pp. 121-126. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,sso&db=nlebk&AN=1457340&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic).
Example: Wang, Yaping, et al. "Yellow River Water Rebalanced by Human Regulation." Scientific Reports (Nature Publisher Group), vol. 9, 2019, pp. 1-10. ProQuest, https://go.openathens.net/redirector/sccsc.edu?url=https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/yellow-river-water-rebalanced-human-regulation/docview/2252260242/se-2, doi:https://doi.org/10.1038/s41598-019-46063-5.
Format: Creator(s). "Title of Graph." Title of Source in Italics, Publisher, Date. Database Name, URL.
Example: "Estimated Volume of Food Waste Generated in the United States from 2016 to 2019 (in Millions Tons)." 2019 Wasted Food Report, Environmental Protection Agency, Apr. 2023. Statista, https://www.statista.com/statistics/1386235/amount-of-food-waste-generated-in-the-united-states/.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Example: Fowler, Betheny, and Robert Cox. "School Meals Will be Free at Multiple Spartanburg Co. Districts." 7 News WSPA.COM, Nexstar Media Group, 27 July 2023, www.wspa.com/news/school/students-in-spartanburg-school-district-1-to-receive-free-meals/.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal in italics, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL/DOI.
Example: Smith, John. “Evaluating Muscle Symptoms.” Journal of Neurology, vol. 74, no. 2, Jan. 2016, pp. 58‐71. Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A102908738/HRCA?u=spartechcl&sid=bookmark-HRCA&xid=99c95a3e.
Example: Goldman, Mark. “Asthma in Young Children.” The Journal of Respiratory Health, vol. 64, no. 1, 2017, pp. 69-88. Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine, https://doi.org/10.1632/adfl.43.2.11.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
How to Cite a Play From Folger Shakespeare Library
Example: Shakespeare, William. The Tragedy of Richard III. Edited by Barbara A. Mowat and Paul Werstine, Folger Shakespeare Library. Folger Digital Texts, www.folgerdigitaltexts.org/?chapter=5&play=R3&loc=p9. Accessed 15 Mar. 2018.
How to Cite a Journal Article
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
How to Cite Part of a Book or Ebook
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format. If you're instructor asks you to use APA, see our APA Guide for examples.
Example: “The Bystander Effect: The Death of Kitty Genovese.” YouTube, uploaded by HeroicImaginationTV, 12 May 2012, www.youtube.com/watch?v=BdpdUbW8vbw&t=1s.
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Magazine/Newspaper, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format. If your instructor asks you to use APA, see our APA Guide for examples.
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format. If your instructor has instructed you to use the APA citation style, please see our APA guides.
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s).Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Example: Brooks, Douglas. "Hinduism." Introduction to World Religions: Communities and Cultures, edited by Jacob Neusner, Abingdon Press, 2010, 117-128. EBSCO eBook Collection, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=nlebk&AN=577734&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s9007306.
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s).Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Example: Melugin, Jessica."Net Neutrality is Bad for Consumers." Opposing Viewpoints Online Collection, 2018.Opposing Viewpoints in Context, link.gale.com/apps/doc/IQBUHE201042021/OVIC?u=spartechcl&sid=bookmark-OVIC&xid=ba4e19e4.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example: Motaparthy, Priyanka. "Key Steps Taken to End Use of Child Soldiers in Syria." Human Rights Watch, 11 Sept. 2018, www.hrw.org/news/2018/09/11/key-steps-taken-end-use-child-soldiers-syria.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Format: Creator(s). "Title of Graph." Title of Source in Italics, Publisher, Date. Database Name, URL.
Example: “Countries with the Largest Number of People in Modern Slavery, as of 2018.” Global Slavery Index 2018, Trafficking Matters, 13 Sept. 2022. Statista, www.statista.com/statistics/301095/global-slavery-index/?locale=en.
Format: "Title of Article." Database Name, Publisher, Date, URL.
Example (Whole Section): "Kenya." CultureGrams, ProQuest, 2024, online-culturegrams-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/world/world_country.php?cid=85&cn=Kenya.
Example (Specific Page): "Kenya: Family." CultureGrams, ProQuest, 2024, online-culturegrams-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/world/world_country_sections.php?cid=85&cn=Kenya&sname=Family&snid=11.
Example (Image): "People of Kenya." CultureGrams, ProQuest, 2024, online-culturegrams-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/gallery/slideshow.php?SlideshowDate=2011-10-01&SlideshowFilename=Kenya_People.
Hint: You will find the citation information for your article at the end of the article.
Here is an example of a MLA citation for a Today's Science article:
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Database Name in Italics, Publisher, Date, URL.
Example: Erick, Timothy. "Food for Thought: The Gut-Brain Connection." Today's Science, Infobase, Nov. 2018, tsof-infobase-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/articles/QXJ0aWNsZVRleHQ6NTMwMA==?q=Food+for+thought+gut&aid=97845.
Hint: You will find the citation information for your article at the end of the article.
Here is an example of a MLA citation for a Today's Science article:
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Database Name in Italics, Publisher, Date, URL.
Example: Poltarak, Katya. "Meet Methuselah: The New Long-Lasting Battery." Today's Science, Infobase, Oct. 2018, tsof-infobase-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/articles/QXJ0aWNsZVRleHQ6NTI5NQ==?q=Meet+methuselah&aid=97845.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Advertisement description.Title of Internet Site, Publisher or Sponsor of Site, Day Month Year of Source. URL/Web Address.
Example: Advertisement for Clairol. Ad Access, Duke University Libraries, repository.duke.edu/dc/adaccess. Accessed 3 Dec. 2018.
*Note: If the advertisement doesn't have a title, do not use quotation marks. Make up a title to describe the advertisement, but do not use quotation marks. Capitalize only the first word and any proper nouns in this descriptive title.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s).Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Hint: You will find the citation information for your article at the beginning or end of the article.
Here is an example of a MLA citation for a Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine article:
How to Cite a Journal Article from a Database
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Example: Wallace, Victoria L. "Protecting Yourself!" The Dental Assistant, Nov.-Dec. 2006, p. 18+. Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A9327175/HRCA?u=spartechcl&sid=bookmark-HRCA&xid=a7665672.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
How to Cite a Work from Your Textbook
Format: Author(s). Title of Work. Title of Book, edited by Editor of Volume, page number(s). Title of Multivolume Set, general editor, Editor's Name, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year of Publication, number of volumes.
*Note: Title of Work is italicized for plays, novels, and other long works (like Beowulf). For short stories, poems, etc. put the title in quotation marks.
Example: Berger, André. “Climate Model Simulations of the Geological Past.” The Earth System: Physical and Chemical Dimensions of Global Environmental Change, edited by Michael C. MacCracken and John S. Perry, pp. 296-301. Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change, general editor, Ted Munn, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Wiley, 2002. 5 vols.
Explanation: In the example above, The Earth System is the title of the first volume of the Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change. In this case, we are treating the volume as the first container, and the encyclopedia as the second container. This comes from the MLA Style website's entry for multi-volume works.
How to Cite a Journal Article
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
How to Cite Part of a Book or Ebook
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Title of Film. Directed by Director, Production Company, Date of Release. Database, URL.
Note: You do not have to put the director first (in the author's place). You can start with the title of the film instead, or list the most relevant person, like the director or main actor (i.e. Pitt, Brad, performer.)
*Note: You can usually omit the http:// unless needed to hyperlink.
*Note: For URLs longer than 3 lines, you can shorten the URL. Always retain the host (main website) of the URL.
Example: The Tempest. Directed by Julie Taymor, 2010. Swank, www.digitalcampus.swankmp.net/sccsc364204/play/0B8EC62DA93C52F9.
When citing a recording (video, film, audio, etc.), provide a time stamp for the relevant section. Give the numbers in hours, minutes, and seconds displayed on your media player. Separate each number with a colon, without space on either side.
Example: ("Buffy" 00:03:16-17).
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format. More examples are found on the MLA guide.
How to Cite an Article from Ferguson's Database
Format: "Title of Article." Database in italics, Publisher of Database, Copyright Date, URL.
Example: "Medical Assistants." Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center, Infobase, 2020, go.openathens.net/redirector/sccsc.edu?url=https%3a%2f%2ffcg.infobase.com%2frecordurl%2f1301053%3faid%3d97845.
How to Cite a Journal/Magazine Article from a Database
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example: "Medical Assistant." Occupational Outlook Handbook, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 12 Apr. 2019, www.bls.gov/ooh/healthcare/medical-assistants.htm.
Example: "Occupational Employment and Wages, May 2019: 27-1022 Fashion Designers." Occupational Employment Statistics, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 6 July 2020, https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes271022.htm#st.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Citing Test Results from TypeFocus Career Assessment
Format: "TypeFocus Career Assessments." TypeFocus, Year, URL. Results for Student Name. Access Date.
Example: "TypeFocus Career Assessments." TypeFocus, 2020, v6.typefocus.com/beforelogin/home. Results for Jane Doe. Accessed 24 Nov. 2020.
*Note: The Access Date should be the date you got your results.
Citing an Image from the Web
Format: Creator(s). “Title of Image.” Website Title in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date, URL.
Example: “Kim Kardashian.” Vanity Fair, Condé Nast, 11 Jan. 2004, www.vanityfair.com.
Example 2: Lange, Dorothea. "Migrant Mother." Prints & Photographs Reading Room Collection, Library of Congress, 11 Jan. 2004, montevideo.usembassy.gov.
*Note: For images without titles, create a descriptive title in plain text – no italics, no quotes.
Citing an Image from a Database
Format: Creator(s). "Title of Image." Title of Source (if given), Publisher, Date, Database Name, URL.
Example: Johnson, Clinton. "Boston Street Scene." Library of Congress, 1895, Credo Reference, go.openathens.net/redirector/sccsc.edu?url=https%3a%2f%2ffcg.infobase.com%2frecordurl%2f1301053%3faid%3d97845
*Note: Italicize titles of formal art work.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format. More examples are found on the MLA guide.
Format: Performer. Concert. Date of Performance, Name of Venue/Location, City (if not in the venue name).
Example: Church, Eric. Concert. 6 Apr. 2017, Bon Secours Wellness Arena, Greenville.
*Note: If concert has a title, you can include it after the performer's name.
Format: Title of Performance. Concert (omit if 'concert' is in title). Performance by Name of Group or Major Performers, Date of Performance, Name of Venue/Location, City (if not in the venue name).
Example: Converse Chorale Spring Concert. Performance by The King's Quire, 20 Apr. 2017, Daniel Recital Hall, Converse College, Spartanburg.
Example 2: Wofford College Music Department Pops Concert. Performance by Men’s Glee Club, Women’s Choir, Goldtones, and Wofford Men, 27 Apr. 2017, The Pavilion, Wofford College, Spartanburg.
*Note: If concert does not have a formal title, you can create a descriptive title, but do not italicize it.
Example: Program for Spartanburg Philharmonic Orchestra Concert at Twichell Auditorium, Converse College, Spartanburg. 29 Apr. 2017.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic) URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Example: Smith, John. Social Media Basics. Revised ed., Smithfield Publisher, 2015.
Example: McEvoy, Sean. Shakespeare: The Basics. 2nd ed., Routledge, 2006. eBook Collection,https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=sso&db=nlebk&AN=170965&site=ehost-live&scope=site&custid=s9007306.
*Note: Include URL for database at end if instructor requires it.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Example: Hemingway, Ernest. "Hills Like White Elephants." The Norton Introduction to Literature, edited by Kelly J. Mays, shorter 13th ed., W. W. Norton, 2019, pp. 114-18.
Example: Hennessy, Michael. “Sinking the Titanic.” Critical Survey of Poetry, edited by Frank Magill, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Harvard UP, 1991, pp. 80-89. Literature Resource Center, www.gale.com/databases/literature-resource-center.
*Note: Include URL for database at end if instructor requires it.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Magazine/Newspaper, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL
Example: Medeiros, Brian. "Keep Cows Comfortable." Dairy Today, 13 Oct. 2011, pp. 33+. General OneFile, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A250824516/ITOF?u=spartechcl&sid=bookmark-ITOF&xid=5dfbfe11.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic).
Example: Godwin, John. "Wallace’s 'Jest'." Explicator, vol. 61, no. 2, 2003, pp. 122-24. General OneFile, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A186269246/ITOF?u=spartechcl&sid=ITOF&xid=1e4615a6.
Article with a DOI:
Example: Goldman, Ann. “Reading Primo Levi Reading.” The Georgia Review, vol. 64, no. 1, 2010, pp. 69-88. Gale Literature Resource Center, https://doi.org/10.1632/adfl.43.2.11.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Example 1: Stewart, Bob. “Biostimulants.” Plant News, University of Maryland, 5 Aug. 2009, www.ipmnet.umd.edu/ 5-4art1.htm.
Example 2: “Biospheres.” Amazing Earth, www.amazingearth.com/biospheres/. Accessed 2 Feb. 2020.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Video.” Website Title in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), uploaded by Name of User, Date of Upload, URL.
Example: “The Bystander Effect: The Death of Kitty Genovese.” YouTube, uploaded by HeroicImaginationTV, 12 May 2012, www.youtube.com/watch?v=BdpdUbW8vbw&t=1s.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Source in Italics, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database or Website Name in Italics (if electronic), URL.
*Note: The title of your source is going to be the name of the magazine, newspaper, journal, reference book, etc. where you found your article to summarize.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book in Italics, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name in Italics (if electronic), URL.
Example: Sanchez, Liz. "How Zoos Help Preserve the World's Species for the Future." The Writer's Mindset, edited by Lisa Wright Hoeffner, McGraw Hill, 2022, pp. 523-24.
Example: Delgado, Tierra. "A Food Pantry Worth Admiring." The Writers Mindset, edited by Lisa Wright Hoeffner, McGraw Hill, 2022, pp. 195-98. Connect, mheducation.com.
*Note: You can usually omit the http:// unless needed to hyperlink.
*Note: For URLs longer than 3 lines, you can shorten the URL. Always retain the host (main website) of the URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Example: Bhaumik, Sanjukta and Sudhansubala Sahu. "My Motherhood, My Way: A Sociological Study of Contemporary Employed Mothers in Kolkata." Journal of International Women's Studies, vol. 22, no. 6, July 2021, pp. 66+. Gale in Context: Global Issues, link.gale.com/apps/doc/A668597435/OVIC?u=spartechcl&sid=bookmark-OVIC&xid=5220bf88.
Format: "Title of Article." Database Name, Publisher, Date of Publication, URL.
Example (Whole Section): "Kenya." CultureGrams Online Edition, ProQuest, 2019, online.culturegrams.com/world/world_country.php?cid=85&cn=Kenya&ctid=1.
Example (Specific Page): "Kenya: Family." CultureGrams Online Edition, ProQuest, 2019, online.culturegrams.com/world/world_country_sections.php?cid=85&cn=Kenya&sname=Family&snid=11.
Example (Image): "Kibera Slums." CultureGrams Online Edition, ProQuest, 2010, online.culturegrams.com/world/world_country_sections.php?cid=85&cn=Kenya&sname=Family&snid=11.
A note for in-text citations: If you have multiple articles on your Works Cited page with no authors that also have the same titles, use the next part of the citation to differentiate the sources in-text. This could be the database name or the name of the book or encyclopedia (or journal or website) that your article came from. You can shorten longer titles as long as it's clear which citation on your works cited page the in-text is referring to. See the examples below:
Works Cited 1: "China." CultureGrams, ProQuest, 2018, online-culturegrams-com.eu1.proxy.openathens.net/world/world_country.php?cid=34&cn=China.
Works Cited 2: "China." Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, edited by M.S. Hill, 14th ed., vol. 4, Gale, 2017, pp.143-180. Gale in Context Global Issues, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3652100183.
In-Text 1: ("China," CultureGrams).
In-Text 2: ("China," Worldmark Encyclopedia).
There are several ways to cite images in a project in MLA format. This will depend on if you are including an image that you found in another source or if you created the image yourself, using information from another source
When you include an image directly into your paper, it should be labeled as "Fig." with a number, followed by a period. (Example: Fig. 1.).
Under the image, place a caption that will start with the Figure label and number. Then you have options for how to finish the caption.
Give the full MLA citation for your source. Do not invert the creator's name (if you have one listed).
If you include the full MLA citation in your caption and you do not cite the source again in your project, you do not need to include the source in your Works Cited.
Fig 1. "Microsoft Corp." Google Finance, 1 Apr. 2024, www.google.com/finance/quote/MSFT:NASDAQ?sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwikycLv_aCFAxXxEkQIHYvoBaQQ3ecFegQIKhAX&window=1Y.
*Note: If you are citing a source from website or a library database and the URL goes on for multiple lines, you can shorten the URL to end at the end of the first line if you want.
Give the full MLA citation for the source that you found your information in. Since you are creating this chart or graph based on outside information, also list "Adapted from" to show your reader that you created this chart or graph based on outside information.
Fig. 1. Adapted from: "Adobe Inc." Business Insights: Essentials, Gale: Cengage Learning, 2017-2021, bi.gale.com/essentials/remoteLink?id=321995&.
Sometimes you might create an image that has information from multiple sources. Since you are creating this chart or graph based on outside information, also list "Adapted from" to show your reader that you created this chart or graph based on outside information.
Fig. 1. Adapted from: "Adobe Inc." Business Insights: Essentials and "08-146-6849. Microsoft Corporation." Mergent Intellect
"Adobe Inc." Business Insights: Essentials, Gale: Cengage Learning, 2017-2021, bi.gale.com/essentials/remoteLink?id=321995&.
"08-146-6849. Microsoft Corporation." Mergent Intellect, Mergent, 2017-2021, www.mergentintellect.com/index.php/search/companyFinancials/81466849.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Title of Film. Directed by Director, Production Company, Date of Release. Database, URL.
Note: You do not have to put the director first (in the author's place). You can start with the title of the film instead, or list the most relevant person, like the director or main actor (i.e. Pitt, Brad, performer.)
*Note: You can usually omit the http:// unless needed to hyperlink.
*Note: For URLs longer than 3 lines, you can shorten the URL. Always retain the host (main website) of the URL.
When citing a recording (video, film, audio, etc.), provide a time stamp for the relevant section. Give the numbers in hours, minutes, and seconds displayed on your media player. Separate each number with a colon, without space on either side.
Example: ("Buffy" 00:03:16-17).
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Artist. Title of Artwork. Year of Creation (if known). Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example: Block, David. Crying Hands. Deaf Art, Rochester Institute of Technology, 2022, deaf-art.org/deaf-art/devia-posters/hands/.
*Note: Italicize titles of formal art work and include the date of creation after the title with a period. The Starry Night. 1889.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Image.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of Publication/Posting, URL.
Example (No Title): Chuck Baird with brushes. National Association of the Deaf, 2022, www.nad.org/2012/02/14/remembering-chuck-baird-artist-of-life/.
*Note: For images without titles, create a descriptive title in plain text – no italics, no quotes. Capitalize only the first word and any proper nouns.
*Note: Italicize titles of formal art work and include the date of creation after the title with a period. The Starry Night. 1889.
*Note: Include an accessed date at the end if no date of publication/posting is available.
*Note: Image URLs should be from the actual website that hosts the image. Be careful with this. If you use Google or another search engine to find the image, if you copy the URL it may give you Google's search URL rather than the actual URL of the image's website.
*Note: You can usually omit the http:// unless needed to hyperlink.
*Note: For URLs longer than 3 lines, you can shorten the URL. Always retain the host (main website) of the URL.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article or Page.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example: “Chuck Baird.” Deaf Art, Rochester Institute of Technology, 2022, deaf-art.org/profiles/chuck-baird.
Example: “Chuck Baird.” DeafArt.org, www.deafart.org/Biographies/Chuck_Baird/chuck_baird.html. Accessed 7 Mar. 2022.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example: Durr, Patti. "De'VIA: Investigating Deaf Visual Art." Deaf Studies Today!, vol. 2, 2006, pp. 167-87. Deaf Art, Rochester Institute of Technology, 2022, deaf-art.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/DeVIAInvestigatingDeafVisualArtbyPattiDurr.pdf.
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics. (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Interviewee. Interview. Conducted by Interviewer, Date of Interview.
Example: Smith, Jane. Interview. By John Doe, 24 Oct. 2015.
There are several ways to do in-text citations for plays. Depending on what information you have about your play will determine how you do your in-text citations.
Example: (Hansberry, 1.2. lines 171-9)
*Note: If the text of your play includes line numbers on the side of the page, then replace the page number with the act, scene, and line numbers.
*Note: If you have used the author's name or the play's title in the signal phrase before introducing a quote, you do not need to include it in your in-text citation.
*Note: Once you have established you are citing using line numbers, you can drop the word "lines" in the rest of your citations.
Example: (Wilson 200)
*Note: If lines in your play are not numbered, you can use the page number in your citation.
*Note: If you have used the author's name or the play's title in the signal phrase before introducing a quote, you do not need to include it in your in-text citation.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: "Title of Company Report." Database Name, Publisher, Date, URL.
Example: “05-195-7769. Walmart Inc.” Mergent Intellect, Mergent, July 2022, www.mergentintellect.com/index.php/search/companyDetails/51957769.
Format: Author(s). “Title of Article.” Title of Website in Italics, Website Publisher (if different than title), Date of publication, URL.
Example: "Medical Assistant." Occupational Outlook Handbook, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 12 Apr. 2019, www.bls.gov/ooh/healthcare/medical-assistants.htm.
Example: "Wages for Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers in 29303." CareerOneStop, U.S. Department of Labor, www.careeronestop.org/toolkit/wages/find-salary.aspx?keyword=Welders,%20Cutters,%20Solderers,%20and%20Brazers&soccode=514121&location=29303. Accessed 28 Feb. 2023.
Example: "Avionics Technicians. 49-2091.00." O*NET OnLine, 21 Feb. 2023, www.onetonline.org/link/summary/49-2091.00.
*Note: Exclude publisher if title of website and publisher are the same.
*Note: If website does not have a date, add an access date at the end after the URL: Accessed 7 May 2016.
*Note: Do not include the http:// or https:// in the URL.
Format: "Title of Article." Database in italics, Publisher of Database, Copyright Date, URL.
Example: "Medical Assistants." Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center, Infobase, 2020, go.openathens.net/redirector/sccsc.edu?url=https%3a%2f%2ffcg.infobase.com%2frecordurl%2f1301053%3faid%3d97845.
When you use your textbook for your paper, you will not need to use the entire book-you will only be citing one poem or section from the book. Here is how you would cite a poem from your textbook:
Citation: Smith, Charlotte. "To a Nightingale." British Literature II: Romantic Era to the Twentieth Century and Beyond, edited by Bonnie J. Robinson, University Press of North Georgia, 2018, p. 16, open.umn.edu/opentextbooks/textbooks/625.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in MLA format:
Format: Author(s). Title of Book in Italics. Edition, Publisher, Year. Database Name in Italics (if electronic), URL.
*Note: if using a print book, skip the database name.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Part." Title of Book, edited by Editor, edition, vol. #, Publisher, Year, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database Name (if electronic), URL.
Giles Campus | 864.592.4764 | Toll Free 866.542.2779 | Contact Us
Copyright © 2024 Spartanburg Community College. All rights reserved.