4. Find Sources

Once you've explored your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below and take a look at the recommended books for sources you can use for your paper. If your keywords aren't working or you aren't finding the sources you need, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are the best place to start. Try searching some of the keyword searches you came up with like "Phineas Gage" ; "Phineas Gage" and psychology ; "Phineas Gage" and personality change; "Phineas Gage" and "prefrontal cortex" etc.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text journals. Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Provided through EBSCO. Proxy Bypass
Oxford Academic Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to a collection of over 21,000 full-text eBooks and several journal titles. Under "Modify Your Search" menu on the left, can limit to book or journal articles if you are looking for one in particular.
Gale Power Search
- This link opens in a new window
A good general database that covers many subjects, especially current new issues. Has magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as some reference material. Full-text content.
EBSCO General Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Proxy Bypass
Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Recommended Books

Entry "Phineas Gage," from The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0787647861
An Odd Kind of Fame by Malcolm Macmillan
Call Number: E-Book and Giles Campus Stacks RC387.5 .G34 M33 2002
ISBN: 9780262632591
Publication Date: 2002-07-26
In 1848 a railway construction worker named Phineas Gage suffered an accident that made him a major curiosity of medicine and a significant figure in psychology and neuroscience: an explosion caused a tamping iron to be blown completely through his head, destroying the left frontal lobe of his brain. Gage survived the accident and remained in reasonable physical health for another eleven years. But his behavior changed markedly after the injury, and his case is considered to be the first to reveal the relation between the brain and complex personality characteristics.
Chapter 4: "Emotions and the Brain" from Emotions: A Brief History
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780470777114
Phineas Gage by John Fleischman
Call Number: Giles Campus Stacks RC387.5 .F565 2002
ISBN: 0618052526
Publication Date: 2002-03-25
Through the case history of Phineas Gage, a 19th century Vermonter who had an iron bar driven through his brain and lived, the book examines what is known of brain function.

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.