Once you have narrowed your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working ask a librarian for help!
Biographical Sources
Your research paper includes biographical information about the author. The literature databases will have some information, but also look for the author in the Gale in Context: Biography database. There are also several recommended books that include biographies on poets (see below).
This link opens in a new windowLiterary Criticism Sources
The following databases have lots of sources for poetry criticism. Begin your search by entering the name of the poem. If there are a lot of results, you can add the word "and," and then the theme you are researching.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowSearch 2 EBSCO literary databases at once: Literary Reference Source and Academic Search Premier. Proxy Bypass
The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry
Critical Survey of Poetry: American Poets by 
African American Poets by 
The Facts on File Companion to American Poetry by 
Critical Survey of Poetry by 
American Poetry of the 20th Century by 
Poetry Criticism (Multiple Volumes)
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics by 
The Teachers and Writers Handbook of Poetic Forms
The Longman Dictionary of Poetic TermsUse the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.
Giles Campus | 864.592.4764 | Toll Free 866.542.2779 | Contact Us
Copyright © 2024 Spartanburg Community College. All rights reserved.
Call 864.592.4764
Text 864.756.8008