SCC Research Guides: HIS 105-Country Research (Washburn): 4. Find Sources

Find Sources

Now you're ready to find sources for your project. Use the recommended resources below to search for useful information. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis or main idea. If you're having trouble, ask a librarian for help!

Recommended Databases

Gale in Context: World History
Full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, primary sources, images, maps and charts.
EBSCO History Databases
Search 3 databases at once! History Reference Center, Military & Gov't Collection, European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750. Covers U.S. and World History. Proxy Bypass
Modern World History
A comprehensive look at world history including art, music, literature, politics and other aspects of culture from the mid-15th century to current times including United States. Thousands of subject entries, biographies, images, videos and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines combine to provide a detailed and comparative view of the people, places, events, and ideas that have defined modern world history and culture.
CultureGrams
Maps, basic facts, daily life, culture, history and customs of 181 nations. Proxy Bypass
Gale eBooks
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.
Gale Power Search
A good general database that covers many subjects, especially current new issues. Has magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as some reference material. Full-text content.
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Proxy Bypass
Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Statistics

Statista
With access to over million statistics on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 credible sources, this database specialized in market and consumer data, statistics, infographics, reports, plus company insights to support research and help to find statistics, charts, graphs, and other visuals to integrate into papers and presentations.

Search for Books & eBooks

Use the search box below to search the SCC Library Catalog for physical books (in one of our library locations) and eBooks. You can also open the Library Catalog or use the Advanced Search for more search options.