Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in APA format:
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL
Note: If using a print article or database article use the DOI (if no DOI, skip). If using a non-database article (from a website) with no DOI, use the URL instead.
Print or Electronic Article with a DOI given
Example: Bassett, S. D. (2007). Exploring the issue of confidentiality. Nurse Educator, 32(4), 147-153. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126
Print Article or Article from a Database with no DOI given
Example: Bozkurt, O. (2007). Wired for work. Society, 44(2), 33-40.
Electronic Article from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given
Example: Bass, J. D. (2020). Exploring mental health. American Nursing, 3(8), 47-56. https://www.americannursing.com/issue58649/exploring-mental-health
More Information on Citing Journal Articles in APA
Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Website Name. URL
Example: Harrar, S. (2007, July 5). Better heart health. CNN, http://cnn.com/better-heart-201562
Example: The secret to a long life. (2020, August 10). American Cancer Society, http://americancancersociety.com/secret-long-life-356892
Group Author: Mayo Clinic. (2011, June 23). Absence seizure. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/201569
Access Date: Smith, J. D. (n.d.). Considerations for new nurses. Career Spot. Retrieved July 3, 2019, from https://www.careerspot.org/nursing213659/
Government: National Cancer Institute. (2020). Lung cancer update (NIH Publication No. 20-6548). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. https://www.cancer.gov/lungcancer206528/
More Information on Citing Website Articles in APA
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number). Publisher. DOI/URL.
*Note: If no DOI, skip. If using a non-database (online) E-Book include the URL.
Example: Duclos-Miller, P. A. (2006). How to cope with stress (2nd ed., Vol. 2). Greenwood. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560
Example: Sallan, B. A. (2020). The psychology of a child (3rd ed.). Greenwood.
Example: Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (Vol. 2). American Psychological Association. https://www.feminist-therapy.com/book245345
More Information on Citing Books in APA
Format: Author(s) of Part. (Year). Title of part. In Editor's Name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number, pp. page numbers of part). Publisher. DOI/URL
Print Book or Ebook with a DOI given
Example: Turner, J. B. (2006). Diaper rash. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (3rd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 1169-1171). Thomson Gale. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560
Ebook from a Database with no DOI given
Example: Weinstock, R., Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry. In R. B. Rosner & J. R. Gilbert (Eds.), Forensic psychiatry (2nd ed., pp. 7-13). Mosby.
Ebook from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given
Example: Stockton, L., Smith, F. B., & Fields, J. A. (2020). Dementia. In Aging conditions (p. 13). Parsons. http://www.dementiabook.com
More Information on Citing a Part of a Book in APA
When you have a case, you must cite using Bluebook format, all other types of sources will use APA.
*Note: In court documents and legal memos, a full case name is usually in italics or underlined, but in academic legal writing it is generally not.
*Note: A Source\Reporter is a publication that contains a specific court's decisions. There can be more than one that publishes for a court. For example, the opinions of the U.S Supreme Court are published in 3 different sources.
*Note: Names of the source and the court are always generally abbreviated.
*Note: Since there is only one U.S. Supreme Court, you do not need to include the court in the parenthesis.
US Supreme Court Example: Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973)
Federal Courts of Appeals Example: United States v. Cutter, 313 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 2002)
State Court Example: Decker v. Smith, 471 S.E.2d 462 (S.C. 1995)
If you use information from a specific page, you may need to include that information in your citation. It is called the pinpoint or page cited.
Format: Case Name, Volume No. Source/Report Abbreviation 1st page number, Pinpoint page (Court Year).
US Supreme Court Example: Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 355 (1967)
Federal Courts of Appeals Example: United States v. Gray, 491 F.3d 138, 140 (4th Cir. 2007)
State Court Example: State v. Gregory, 333 A.2d 257, 259 (N.J. 1975)
After you have listed your case in long form as described above the first time in your document, you can then shorten it when you reference it again. These are Bluebook style acceptable shorten citation examples:
For this case example reference text on page 142: United States v. Gray, 491 F.3d 138 (4th Cir. 2007)
Penn State Law A Guide to the Bluebook PowerPoint- This PowerPoint created by Penn State Law is a wonderful, quick, and comprehensive guide for the rules of Bluebook citation.
University of Notre Dames Law School Citing Law Cases -This is a 5-page handout that covers all the basic rules to citing any type of case.
Georgetown Law Library Bluebook Guide -This has basic Bluebook citation information as well as breaks down how to cite Federal and State Courts, Unpublished Opinions, and Shorten Forms of Cases.
Purdue University Owl Bluebook Citation for Legal Materials- This Purdue University guide to citing information using Bluebook style.
Format: Author Last Name, Author First Initial. (Year). Title of Image/Graph [Type of Media/Description]. Publisher. URL
Example: Lutz, E. (2014). An animated chart of 42 North American butterflies [Infographic]. Tabletop Whale. http://www.tabletopwhale.com/2014/08/27/42-butterflies-of-north-america.html
Sometimes you might have to cite an image that does not have a formal title. When that happens, include a description of the image in square brackets in place of the title.
Example: Guttenfelder, D. (2021). [Splashing water on Lake Superior] [Photograph]. National Geographic. http://www.nationalgeographic.com/travel/article/kayaking-around-lake-superior-apostle-islands
Format: Author Last Name, Author First Initial. (Year). Title of Image [Type of Media/Description]. Publisher.
Example from AnatomyTV: Chambers of the heart [Digital Image]. (2021). Anatomy.TV.
Example from Statista: GWI & DataReportal. (2023). Daily time spent on social networking by internet users worldwide from 2012 to 2023 (in minutes) [Infographic]. We Are Social; DataReportal; Hootsuite.
For the image title, capitalize only proper nouns and the first word of the article title and subtitle. Also italicize the video title.
For the website name, capitalize all the significant words in the title. Do not use italics or quotation marks.
Note: If you mention an image title in your paper, all major words should be capitalized and it should be in italics.
The author of the photograph is the photographer.
Usernames can be included in place of author’s real name if real name is not known. If both real name and username are known, include both with username listed second, in brackets.
Describe the work in square brackets []. Example:[PowerPoint slides], [Digital images], [Infographics], [Maps], [Photographs], [Painting], [Clip art], etc.
Present URL’s as hyperlinks beginning with http:// or https:// taking the reader directly to the source.
Double space entries. If an entry runs more than one line, use a hanging indent to indent any additional lines beyond the first.
Acceptable abbreviations can be found on pp. 306-7 of the APA manual.
If what you are citing is not listed in APA manual, choose the example in the manual most like your source.
In APA, all types of graphical displays besides tables are considered figures. The standards for good figures include simplicity, clarity, continuity, and informational value.
Still list citations on the reference page for images.
Example 1: If you used the image "as is" from the orginal source.
Figure 1
Correct Positioning in a Massage Chair
Note: From Cuttingham, A. (2016). Make your own magic. Massage & Bodywork, 31(6), 23-28. Copyright 2016 by Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals (ABMP).
Example 2 If you made some changes to the image from the original source use Adapted in front of the source information,
Figure 2
Anatomy of a Dolphin
Note. Red boxes are around organs related to a dolphin's breathing. Adapted from American Oceans. (2024). Understanding dolphin anatomy. https://www.americanoceans.org/facts/dolphin-anatomy/. Copyright 2024 American Oceans.
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________
References
American Oceans. (2024). Understanding dolphin anatomy. https://www.americanoceans.org/facts/dolphin-anatomy/
Cuttingham, A. (2016). Make your own magic. Massage & Bodywork, 31(6), 23-28.
Giles Campus | 864.592.4764 | Toll Free 866.542.2779 | Contact Us
Copyright © 2024 Spartanburg Community College. All rights reserved.
Call 864.592.4764
Text 864.756.8008