Bloomsbury Cultural History is an interactive online resource providing digital access to curated and illustrated reference works alongside extensive eBook and image collections giving insight into a range of cultural topics throughout history.
Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture, with videos and slideshows, images, biographies of key people, event and topic entries, primary sources, maps and graphs, and timelines. Proxy Bypass
A collection of historical documents, images, etc., it documents American History from 1860-1945. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection. Note: SCC has access to Module II, which covers 1860-1945.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Page images from selected historic newspapers of 25 states and the District of Columbia, published from 1836-1922. Includes 34 historic South Carolina newspapers published in Anderson, Anderson Court House, Bennettsville, Charleston, Columbia, Edgefield, Georgetown, Laurens, Orangeburg, Orangeburg Court House, Pickens Court House, Rock Hill, Sumter, and Sumterville. Searchable by date and keyword. Viewing options include PDF images, downloadable images, text only, and persistent links for sharing. Includes a searchable and browsable directory of U.S. newspapers from 1690-present.
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories including SC Newspapers of Herald -Journal (Spartanburg), The State (Columbia), and The Post and Courier (Charleston).
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.