4. Find Sources

Once you've narrowed your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use for your project. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are the best place to start.

Gale Power Search
- This link opens in a new window
A good general database that covers many subjects, especially current new issues. Has magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as some reference material. Full-text content.
EBSCO General Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Proxy Bypass
Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.
Credo Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from almost 600 reference books, covering various subjects.

Newspapers

Newspapers can be great sources to look for information on the media influencing mass hysteria.

Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. News articles from the 1990s-current. Provided through EBSCO.
Gale OneFile: News
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers; search for articles by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, etc. National, regional, and local newspapers, as well as international papers. Also transcripts from radio broadcasts and television. Coverage 1990s-current
Newsbank: Access World News
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories including SC Newspapers of Herald -Journal (Spartanburg), The State (Columbia), and The Post and Courier (Charleston).
Black Life in America (Newsbank)
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Page images from selected historic newspapers of 25 states and the District of Columbia, published from 1836-1922. Includes 34 historic South Carolina newspapers published in Anderson, Anderson Court House, Bennettsville, Charleston, Columbia, Edgefield, Georgetown, Laurens, Orangeburg, Orangeburg Court House, Pickens Court House, Rock Hill, Sumter, and Sumterville. Searchable by date and keyword. Viewing options include PDF images, downloadable images, text only, and persistent links for sharing. Includes a searchable and browsable directory of U.S. newspapers from 1690-present.

Books

The Salem Witch Trials by K. David Goss
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780313320958
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
A Delusion of Satan by Frances Hill
Call Number: Giles Stacks KFM2478.8 .W5 H55 1997
ISBN: 0306811596
Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Daily Life During the Salem Witch Trials by K. David Goss
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1283863545
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
A Storm of Witchcraft by Emerson W. Baker
Call Number: Giles & Cherokee Stacks KFM2478.8 .W5 B35 2015
ISBN: 9780199890347
Publication Date: 2014-10-06
Also Available Online
Events That Changed America Through the Seventeenth Century by John E. Findling (Editor); Frank W. Thackeray (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1280869003
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Includes chapter on Salem Witch Trials
The Story of the Salem Witch Trials by Bryan F. Le Beau
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1315509040
Publication Date: 2016-05-23

COVID-19 Pandemic by Tapas Kumar Koley; Monika Dhole
Call Number: Giles Stacks - Circulating RA644 .C67 K65 2021
ISBN: 9780367554705
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Pandemic Solidarity by Marina Sitrin (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0745343163
Publication Date: 2020-06-25

Radio's America: the Great Depression and the Rise of Modern Mass Culture by Bruce Lenthall
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1282239848
Publication Date: 2010-01-11
The Medium and the Magician: Orson Welles, The Radio Years, 1934-1952 by Paul Heyer
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1461665795
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Lost Sound: The Forgotten Art of Radio Storytelling by Jeff Porter
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1469627787
Publication Date: 2016-03-11

Serial Killers: Horrifying True-Life Cases of Pure Evil by Charlotte Grieg
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781848589568
Publication Date: 2014
The Encyclopedia of Serial Killers by Michael Newton
Call Number: Giles - Reference HV6245 .N49 2006
ISBN: 0816061955
Publication Date: 2006-02-01
Creating Cultural Monsters: Serial Murder in America by Julie B. Wiest
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0429251297
Publication Date: 2011-06-06

We Believe the Children: A Moral Panic of the 1980s by Richard Beck
Call Number: Giles Stacks - Circulating HV6570.2 .B43 2015
ISBN: 9781610392877
Publication Date: 2015-08-04
The Abuse of Innocence: The McMartin Preschool Trial by Paul Eberle; Shirley Eberle
Call Number: Giles Stacks - Circulating KF224 .M215 E23 2003
ISBN: 9781591021650
Publication Date: 2003-10-29
Ten Great American Trials by Glenn C. Altschuler; Faust F. Rossi
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1634255925
Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Contains Sacco and Vanzetti, Leopold & Loeb, Scottsboro, Alger Hiss, Sam Sheppard, Village of Skokie vs. National Socialist Party of America, Dan White, Claus von Bulow, McMartin Preschool, O.J. Simpson.
Also in print: Central Reference KF220 .A43 2016

Find More Books

Use the search box below to search for books at the SCC Library.

Find More E-Books

For ebooks, use the databases below.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of over 260,000 eBooks including a variety of subjects including history, business, social science, political science, literature, science, medical, technical subjects, etc.. Proxy Bypass
EBook Central
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250,000 eBooks including a variety of subjects including social science, history, literature, business/management, religion, science, medicine, fine arts, education, etc.
Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.