4. Find Sources

Once you've narrowed your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use for your project. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are the best place to start to find information about a literary work or character.

Gale Literature
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature allows you to search all of Gale’s literary databases and literature eBook titles in one database.
Gale eBooks: Literature Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks included literature criticism series: Short Stories for Students, Drama For Students, Poetry For Students, Novels for Students, Epics for Students and Shakespeare for Students.
EBSCO Literature Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 2 EBSCO literary databases at once: Literary Reference Center and Academic Search Premier. Proxy Bypass

These databases are a great place to find more general information about storytelling techniques:

Gale Power Search
- This link opens in a new window
A good general database that covers many subjects, especially current new issues. Has magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as some reference material. Full-text content.
EBSCO General Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Proxy Bypass
Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.

Recommended Books

A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by Michael Ferber
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780511341113
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Books to Film by Jim Craddock (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1410338428
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
Film: A Critical Introduction Fourth Edition by Maria Pramaggiore; Tom Wallis
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781786275776
Publication Date: 2020-01-14
The Complete History of American Film Criticism by Jerry Roberts
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781595809421
Publication Date: 2010-02-19
Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Barry Keith Grant
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0028657918
Publication Date: 2006-12-15
Costume, Makeup, and Hair by Adrienne L. McLean (Editor, Contribution by); Drake Stutesman (Contribution by); Mary Desjardins (Contribution by); Prudence Black (Contribution by); Karen de Perthuis (Contribution by); Robin Blaetz (Contribution by); Tamar Jeffers McDonald (Contribution by); James Castonguay (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0813571537
Publication Date: 2016-10-07
Invisible Art of Film Music by Laurence E. Macdonald
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780810883987
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Cinematography by Patrick Keating (Editor, Contribution by); Chris Cagle (Contribution by); Lisa Dombrowski (Contribution by); Bradley Schauer (Contribution by); Paul Ramaeker (Contribution by); Christopher Lucas (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780813563510
Publication Date: 2014-07-18

Find More Books

Use the search box below to search for books at the SCC Library.

Find More E-Books

For ebooks, use the databases below.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of over 260,000 eBooks including a variety of subjects including history, business, social science, political science, literature, science, medical, technical subjects, etc.. Proxy Bypass
EBook Central
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250,000 eBooks including a variety of subjects including social science, history, literature, business/management, religion, science, medicine, fine arts, education, etc.
Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.