Skip to main content
ask a librarian email questions

NUR 120 - Why Nursing?

This guide is designed to help you complete the Why Nursing? assignment in Nursing 120.

Cite Your Sources in APA Format

Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in APA format:

Journal Article

Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL

Note:  If using a print article or database article use the DOI (if no DOI, skip). If using a non-database article (from a website) with no DOI, use the URL instead.

Print or Electronic Article with a DOI given

Example: Bassett, S. D. (2007). Exploring the issue of confidentiality. Nurse Educator, 32(4), 147-153. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126 

Print Article or Article from a Database with no DOI given

Example: Bozkurt, O. (2007). Wired for work. Society, 44(2), 33-40. 

Electronic Article from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given

Example: Bass, J. D. (2020). Exploring mental health. American Nursing, 3(8), 47-56. https://www.americannursing.com/issue58649/exploring-mental-health

More Information on Citing Journal Articles in APA


Website Article

Format:  Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Website Name. URL

Example: Harrar, S. (2007, July 5). Better heart health. CNN, http://cnn.com/better-heart-201562 

Example: Smith, J. D. (2020, August 10). The secret to a long life. American Cancer Society, http://americancancersociety.com/secret-long-life-356892

Group Author: Mayo Clinic. (2011, June 23). Absence seizure. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/201569 

Access Date: Smith, J. D. (n.d.). Considerations for new nurses. Career Spot. Retrieved July 3, 2019, from https://www.careerspot.org/nursing213659/

Government: National Cancer Institute. (2020). Lung cancer update (NIH Publication No. 20-6548). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. https://www.cancer.gov/lungcancer206528/

More Information on Citing Website Articles in APA


Entire Book or Ebook

Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number). Publisher. DOI/URL.

*Note: If no DOI, skip. If using a non-database (online) E-Book include the URL.

Print Book or Ebook with a DOI given

Example Duclos-Miller, P. A. (2006). How to cope with stress (2nd ed., Vol. 2). Greenwood. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560

Ebook from a Database with no DOI given

Example: Sallan, B. A. (2020). The psychology of a child (3rd ed.). Greenwood.

Ebook from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given

Example: Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (Vol. 2). American Psychological Association. https://www.feminist-therapy.com/book245345

More Information on Citing Books in APA


Part of a Book (chapter, essay, entry, etc.)

Format: Author(s) of Part. (Year). Title of part. In Editor's Name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number, pp. page numbers of part). Publisher. DOI/URL

Print Book or Ebook with a DOI given

Example: Turner, J. B. (2006). Diaper rash. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (3rd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 1169-1171). Thomson Gale. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560 

Ebook from a Database with no DOI given

Example: Weinstock, R., Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry. In R. B. Rosner & J. R. Gilbert (Eds.), Forensic psychiatry (2nd ed., pp. 7-13). Mosby.  

Ebook from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given

Example: Stockton, L., Smith, F. B., & Fields, J. A. (2020). Dementia. In Aging conditions (p. 13). Parsons. http://www.dementiabook.com

More Information on Citing a Part of a Book in APA


Additional APA Information and Examples