Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in APA format:
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL
Note: If using a print article or database article use the DOI (if no DOI, skip). If using a non-database article (from a website) with no DOI, use the URL instead.
Print or Electronic Article with a DOI given
Example: Bassett, S. D. (2007). Exploring the issue of confidentiality. Nurse Educator, 32(4), 147-153. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126
Print Article or Article from a Database with no DOI given
Example: Bozkurt, O. (2007). Wired for work. Society, 44(2), 33-40.
Electronic Article from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given
Example: Bass, J. D. (2020). Exploring mental health. American Nursing, 3(8), 47-56. https://www.americannursing.com/issue58649/exploring-mental-health
More Information on Citing Journal Articles in APA
Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Website Name. URL
Example: Harrar, S. (2007, July 5). Better heart health. CNN, http://cnn.com/better-heart-201562
Example: The secret to a long life. (2020, August 10). American Cancer Society, http://americancancersociety.com/secret-long-life-356892
Group Author: Mayo Clinic. (2011, June 23). Absence seizure. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/201569
Access Date: Smith, J. D. (n.d.). Considerations for new nurses. Career Spot. Retrieved July 3, 2019, from https://www.careerspot.org/nursing213659/
Government: National Cancer Institute. (2020). Lung cancer update (NIH Publication No. 20-6548). U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health. https://www.cancer.gov/lungcancer206528/
More Information on Citing Website Articles in APA
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number). Publisher. DOI/URL.
*Note: If no DOI, skip. If using a non-database (online) E-Book include the URL.
Example: Duclos-Miller, P. A. (2006). How to cope with stress (2nd ed., Vol. 2). Greenwood. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560
Example: Sallan, B. A. (2020). The psychology of a child (3rd ed.). Greenwood.
Example: Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (Vol. 2). American Psychological Association. https://www.feminist-therapy.com/book245345
More Information on Citing Books in APA
Format: Author(s) of Part. (Year). Title of part. In Editor's Name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number, pp. page numbers of part). Publisher. DOI/URL
Print Book or Ebook with a DOI given
Example: Turner, J. B. (2006). Diaper rash. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (3rd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 1169-1171). Thomson Gale. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560
Ebook from a Database with no DOI given
Example: Weinstock, R., Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry. In R. B. Rosner & J. R. Gilbert (Eds.), Forensic psychiatry (2nd ed., pp. 7-13). Mosby.
Ebook from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given
Example: Stockton, L., Smith, F. B., & Fields, J. A. (2020). Dementia. In Aging conditions (p. 13). Parsons. http://www.dementiabook.com
More Information on Citing a Part of a Book in APA
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in APA format:
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL
Note: If using a print article or database article use the DOI (if no DOI, skip). If using a non-database article (from a website) with no DOI, use the URL instead.
Print or Electronic Article with a DOI given
Example: Bassett, S. D. (2007). Exploring the issue of confidentiality. Nurse Educator, 32(4), 147-153. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126
Print Article or Article from a Database with no DOI given
Example: Bozkurt, O. (2007). Wired for work. Society, 44(2), 33-40.
Electronic Article from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given
Example: Bass, J. D. (2020). Exploring mental health. American Nursing, 3(8), 47-56. https://www.americannursing.com/issue58649/exploring-mental-health
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL
Example: Navarro-Cruz, G.E. & Luschei, T.F. (2018). International evidence on effective early childhood care and education programs: A review of best practices. Global Education Review, 5(2). 8+.
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL
Example: Mustafa, M., Lutfi, R., Alsaedi, H., Castelluccio, P., Pearson, K.J., & Montgomery, E.E. (2021). Improvement of pediatric advanced airway management in general emergency departments after a collaboratives intervention program. Respiratory Care, 66(12), 1866+. https://doi.org/10.4187/respcare.09250
Example: MacIntyre, N.R. (2020). Toward reducing COPD hospitalization. Respiratory Care, 65(1), 127+.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in APA format:
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number). Publisher. DOI/URL.
*Note: If no DOI, skip. If using a non-database (online) E-Book include the URL.
Example: Marvel, L. (2003). The Salem witch trials. Greenhaven Press.
Format: Author(s) of Part. (Year). Title of part. In Editor's Name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number, pp. page numbers of part). Publisher. DOI/URL
Example: Evans, C. (2003). Chicago seven trial: 1969. Great American trials (pp. 586-90). Visible Ink Press.
Example: Wolf, K. (2007). The Lindbergh baby murder case: A crime of the century. In F.Y. Bailey & S.M. Chermak (Eds.), Crimes and trials of the century (Vol. 2, pp.153-67). Greenwood Press.
Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Journal/Magazine in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI
Electronic Article with a DOI given
EBSCO Database Example: Lawrence, A. B. (2018). A murder that mattered: Sam Sheppard, the Supreme Court, and free press/fair trial. Journal of Supreme Court History, 43(2), 160-172. http://doi.org/10.1353/sch.2018.0014
Electronic Article from a database without DOI
Gale Database Example: Lindbergh legacy. (2013). Aviation History, 23(4), 21.
Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article in italics. Website Name. URL
Note: Cite an online source as a website only if no other type of source applies to it.
Note: If you're citing multiple articles or webpage from the same website, then create a reference entry for each one.
Linder, D.O. (1995-2023). Leo Frank trial (1913). Famous Trials. https://www.famous-trials.com/leo-frank
Testimony of George Epps. (1995-2023). In D.O. Linder (Ed.), Famous Trials. https://www.famous-trials.com/leo-frank/14-excerpts/41-eppstestimony
Famous Trials Website Example 3 (Primary Sources with Specific Date and Author)
Ransdall, H. (1931, May 27). Report on the Scottsboro, ALA.case. In D.O. Linder (Ed.), Famous Trials. https://famous-trials.com/scottsboroboys/1563-firsttrial#report
Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magizine/Newspaper in italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL
*Note: If using a print or database article use the DOI (if no DOI, skip). If using a non-database article (website) with no DOI, use the URL instead. It will be very rare to find a magazine or newspaper article with a DOI.
Print or Gale Database Example: Goldfarb, S. J. (1996, October). Framed. American Heritage, 47(6), 108+. http://doi.org/10.1126.823
Print or Electronic Article from a Database with no DOI given
Print or EBSCO Database Example: Cannon, A., & Forsyth, K. V. (1999). Crime stories of the century. U.S. News & World Report, 127(22), 40.
U.S Major Dailies Example: Barron, J. (2023, July 27). Finally, a memorial to the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire’s victims : New York Today. The New York Times.
Example: Boy slayers calm as state demands they die by noose. (1924, July 23). Evening Star, 1-2. http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn83045462/1924-07-23/ed-1/seq-1/
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in APA format:
Format: Author(s) of Part. (Year). Title of part. In Editor's Name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number, pp. page numbers of part). Publisher. DOI/URL
*Note: If no DOI, skip. Only use URL if found on website not as part of a database.
Hepburn, S. & Simon, R.J. (2013). South Africa. In Human trafficking around the world: Hidden in plain sight (pp. 271-294). Columbia University Press. https://doi.org/10/42386314
Shaw, S.M., Barbour, N.S., Duncan, P., Freehling-Burton, K., & Nichols, J. (2018). China. In Women's lives around the world: A global encyclopedia (vol. 3, pp. 51-67). ABC-CLIO.
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI
Note: If using a print article or database article use the DOI (if no DOI, skip).
Example: Akita, M., Shahin, Y., & Seita, A. (2021). Scaling up mental health care for refugee populations: A model by UNRWA. Eastern Mediterranean Health Journal, 27(12). http://dx.doi.org/10.26719/2021.27.12.1135
Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Title of Magizine/Newspaper in italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL
*Note: If using a print or database article use the DOI (if no DOI, skip). If using a non-database article (website) with no DOI, use the URL instead. It will be very rare to find a magazine or newspaper article with a DOI.
Print or Gale Database Example: Paragi, B., & Altamimi, A. (2022). Caring control or controlling care? Double bind facilitated by biometrics between UNHCR and Syrian refugees in Jordan. Society and Economy: Journal of the Corvinus University of Budapest, 44(2), 206+. http://dx.doi.org/10.1556/204.2021.00027
Print or Electronic Article from a Database with no DOI given
Print or EBSCO Database Example: PR Newswire. (2023, June 27). Population Media Center’s (PMC) collaboration in Nepal achieves impactful change through entertainment. PR Newswire US.
Newsbank: Access World News Example: Beaumont, P., Manisha, G., & Borger, J. (2023, August 30). Germany and US trained Saudi forces accused of killing Yemen migrants - Training given despite growing concern over scale of human rights abuses in Saudi Arabia. The Guardian (London, England), p. 23.
Format: Author Last Name, Author First Initial. (Year). Title of Image/Graph [Type of Media]. Publisher.
Example: Countries with the largest number of people in modern slavery, as of 2018 [Infographic]. (2022). Trafficking Matters.
Format: Author(s). (Year, Month Day). Title of article in italics. Website Name. URL
Note: Cite an online source as a website only if no other type of source applies to it. For instance, many magazines and newspapers publish articles on their websites - in cases like this, you would cite the article as if it were an online magazines or newspaper article (not a website article). This holds true for journal articles, conference procedures, social media posts, blog posts, online videos, etc. You may need to check the APA manual or ask a librarian to see if your type of source is listed.
Example: Motaparthy, P. (2018, Sep. 11). Key steps taken to end use of child soldiers in Syria. Human Rights Watch. www.hrw.org/news/2018/09/11/key-steps-taken-end-use-child-soldiers-syria
Format: Article title. (Year). In Title of Database, publisher.
Example (Whole Section):
Kenya. (2024). In CultureGrams, ProQuest.
Example (Specific Page):
Kenya: Family. (2024). In CultureGrams, ProQuest.
Example (Image):
People of Kenya. (2024). In CultureGrams, ProQuest.
Here are a few examples to help you cite your sources in APA format:
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of article. Title of Journal in Italics, Volume number in italics(issue number), page numbers of article. DOI/URL
Note: If using a print article or database article use the DOI (if no DOI, skip). If using a non-database article (from a website) with no DOI, use the URL instead.
Print or Electronic Article with a DOI given
Example: Bassett, S. D. (2007). Exploring the issue of confidentiality. Nurse Educator, 32(4), 147-153. https://doi.org/10.1037/rev0000126
Electronic Article from a Database with no DOI given
Example: Bozkurt, O. (2007). Wired for work. Society, 44(2), 33-40.
Electronic Article from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given
Example: Bass, J. D. (2020). Exploring mental health. American Nursing, 3(8), 47-56. https://www.americannursing.com/issue58649/exploring-mental-health
More Information on Citing Journal Articles in APA
Format: Author(s). (Year). Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number). Publisher. DOI/URL.
*Note: If no DOI, skip. If using a non-database (online) E-Book include the URL.
Example: Duclos-Miller, P. A. (2006). How to cope with stress (2nd ed., Vol. 2). Greenwood. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560
Example: Sallan, B. A. (2020). The psychology of a child (3rd ed.). Greenwood.
Example: Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (Vol. 2). American Psychological Association. https://www.feminist-therapy.com/book245345
More Information on Citing Books in APA
Format: Author(s) of Part. (Year). Title of part. In Editor's Name (Ed.), Title of book in italics (Edition ed., Vol. volume number, pp. page numbers of part). Publisher. DOI/URL
Print Book or Ebook with a DOI given
Example: Turner, J. B. (2006). Diaper rash. In J. L. Longe (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of medicine (3rd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 1169-1171). Thomson Gale. https://doi.org/10.1002/97804560
Ebook from a Database with no DOI given
Example: Weinstock, R., Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry. In R. B. Rosner & J. R. Gilbert (Eds.), Forensic psychiatry (2nd ed., pp. 7-13). Mosby.
Ebook from the Internet (Not from a Database) with no DOI given
Example: Stockton, L., Smith, F. B., & Fields, J. A. (2020). Dementia. In Aging conditions (p. 13). Parsons. http://www.dementiabook.com
More Information on Citing a Part of a Book in APA
Giles Campus | 864.592.4764 | Toll Free 866.542.2779 | Contact Us
Copyright © 2024 Spartanburg Community College. All rights reserved.