SCC Research Guides: Information Literacy for Faculty: Synthesizing Information

Synthesizing Information

Effective users of information need to develop skills to synthesize materials. In the academic setting synthesizing information could include:

making connections between materials to create a new idea or project
identifying patterns or common themes across a selection of materials
writing a literature review
creating an annotated bibliography
and more...

Class Activities/Assignments:

Annotated Bibliography: Students compose an organized list of sources evaluating the relevance and authority of each source.

Literature Review: Students critically analyze and evaluate the literature available on a topic.

Poster Project: Allows students to share their research with a larger audience while exercising their ability to communicate about a topic in a direct and concise manner.

Topical Brochure: Students create a brochure based on their research of a topic.

Visual or Oral Presentations: Students complete research on a topic and prepare a visual presentation or speech identifying themes or assimilating the information from their research.

Handouts and Worksheets for the Classroom

Below are selected worksheets and handouts to help students successfully complete these tasks. The documents may be downloaded and edited for your specific instructional needs.

Key Concept Worksheet
A worksheet aid to identify the key concepts of sources.
Poster Checklist
A checklist to aid with poster design.
Synthesis Matrix (blank)
A template for developing your own synthesis matrix.
Synthesis Matrix for a Literature Review
A worksheet to identify themes in literature.
Writing a Literature Review Using a Synthesis Matrix
This handout explains the process of using a matrix with examples.
Annotated Bibliography Worksheet - ENG 101
Downloadable worksheet to help you create your Annotated Bibliography.
Annotated Bibliography Worksheet ENG 102
Downloadable worksheet to help you create your Annotated Bibliography.
APA Annotated Bibliography Worksheet
Downloadable worksheet to help you create your Annotated Bibliography.

Library Resources

Research Guides

Incorporating Sources into a Research Project - Library Research Guide
This guide from the SCC Library provides resources on how to properly include sources in a research project without plagiarism, whether through good note-taking, following the research process, or using direct quotations, paraphrasing, or summarizing, etc.
Organizing Your Research - Library Research Guide
This research guide from the SCC Library will walk students through how to organize their sources for a research project. This guide covers the note card method, source tables, and research outlines.
Annotated Bibliography (MLA) - Library Research Guide
This research guide from the SCC Library will guide students through how to complete an annotated bibliography in MLA format.
Annotated Bibliography (APA) - Library Research Guide
This library research guide will walk students through how to complete an annotated bibliography in APA format.

Videos

Synthesizing Information

Synthesizing Information Video (2:30 min.)

Strategies for Synthesis Video (12:20 min.)