SCC Research Guides: Information Literacy for Faculty: Accessing Information

Accessing Information

Effective users of information need to develop skills to access materials that are appropriate to their need. In the academic setting accessing information could include:

drawing a concept map to brainstorm ideas
selecting an appropriate topic
determining keywords for research
locating reference material or non-fiction books in the library
searching databases for articles or e-books
and more...

Class Activities/Assignments:

Selecting a Topic: Students develop a concept map, individually or in small groups, to determine a suitable topic for a research project.

Explore a Topic: Using various sources, students will gather background information on a topic to help determine what resources are available.

Topic Development: Students identify the "Who, What, When, Where" questions about their topic.

Research Proposal: A preliminary research assignment to narrow the focus for a selected topic.

Brainstorm: Students will brainstorm ideas to identify keywords for searching the library databases.

Identifying Different Types of Sources: Provide an opportunity to consider differences and similarities among various publication types.

Handouts & Worksheets for the Classroom

Below are selected worksheets and handouts to help students successfully complete these tasks. The documents may be downloaded and edited for your specific instructional needs.

Comparing Publications
This exercise is a chance to consider differences and similarities among various publication types.
The Research Process
A worksheet to aid students during research.
Search Techniques
Students often find a handout helpful for conducting research.
Topic Development (pre-research worksheet)
A worksheet to help students select a topic, or narrow their choices.
Research Project Proposal
A worksheet designed to help students start thinking about their topic and available resources.
Plan for Sources
This table will help students organize their research sources.

Library Resources

Research Guides

Choosing a Research Topic - Library Research Guide
This research guide from the SCC Library will walk students through how to choose a research topic for an assignment. This guide covers what makes a good research topic, concept mapping, background research, and narrowing a topic.
The Research Process - Library Research Guide
This research guide from the SCC Library will walk students through how to navigate through the research process. This guide covers everything from project requirements to citing sources.
Search Strategies and Techniques - Library Research Guide
This research guide from the SCC Library will walk students through different strategies for searching in library databases. This guide covers strategies such as choosing keywords, Boolean Operators, using quotation marks, truncation, and more.
Google vs. Library Database - Library Research Guide
This research guide from the SCC Library will explain the difference between searching on Google and searching in library databases to students.
SCC Library's Finding Statistics Guide
This research guide by the SCC Library will give guidance on where to find reliable sources of statistics.
Finding & Using Images
This research guide from the SCC Library will include recommended websites for students to find images for projects that do not violate copyright.

Tutorials

Library Catalog - SCC Library Tutorial
This tutorial will teach you how to effectively search in the SCC Library Catalog.
Different Sources and How to Use Them - SCC Library Tutorial
This tutorial from the SCC Library will cover different types of sources, such as books, periodicals, and websites, and how to use them in research.
Journals, Magazines, and Trade Publications - SCC Library Tutorial
This tutorial from the SCC Library will cover journals, magazines, and trade publications, what they are and how to find them.
Library Databases - SCC Library Tutorial
This tutorial from the SCC Library will cover the basics of how to use a library database.