Format: Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Source in Italics, vol. #, no. #, Date of Publication, page number(s). Database or Website Name in Italics (if electronic), URL.
*Note: The title of your source is going to be the name of the magazine, newspaper, journal, reference book, etc. where you found your article to summarize.
Place the author’s last name and page number in parenthesis. If the in-text citation is at the end of a sentence, place the period outside the parenthesis.
Example 1: (Hennessy 81).
Example 2: (Hennessy 81-82).
If a source has no page numbers, omit the page number. Keep in mind, most electronic sources do not include pages.
Example 1: ("Everyday Victims")
Example 2: (Jones)
If the source has no author, your in-text citation will use the title of the source that starts your works cited entry. The title may appear in the sentence itself or, abbreviated, before the page number in parenthesis.
Example 1: (“Noon” 508).
Example 2: (Faulkner’s Novels 25).
Example 3: (“Climate Model Simulations").
If the entry on the Works Cited page begins with the names of two authors, include both last names in the in-text citation, connected by and.
Example: (Dorris and Erdrich 23).
If the source has three or more authors, include the first author’s last name followed by et al.
Example: (Burdick et al. 42).
Many of the library databases are published by Gale and all function the same way. Some examples of Gale databases you may have used in the past are: Gale Power Search, Gale General OneFile, Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints, and Gale Literature Resource Center.
When you click the link to an article you wish to read in a Gale Database, you will be taken into the full text of the article itself. At the very top of the page is going to have all of the information you will need to complete your citations.
Click on the purple exclamation points (!) to see where you can find the information you will need for a citation in a Gale database. Click the full screen option on the right side of the image to make the image larger.
If you have any difficulty accessing the Gale example, see the plain text version here.
Database Name: Gale Power Search
The name of the database will always be in the top left-hand corner of your screen.
Article Title: Community College Students Rise to the Challenge--Meeting the Time Demands of Highly Structured Courses.
The article title will always be found at the top of the record page in a large font.
Authors: Scott Freeman, Pamela Pape-Lindstrom, Anne Casper, and Sarah Eddy are the authors.
The name of the author(s) are found under Author(s), underneath the article title.
Publication Date: May-June 2020.
The publication date for the article is found under Date. A publication date can be either a year (2020) or a month and year (May-June 2020).
Journal Name: Journal of College Science Teaching is the journal this article was published in.
The journal name is found under From. It will be the first item listed.
Volume: Vol. 49.
The volume number is found under From. This will be in parenthesis ( ) next to the journal name.
Issue Number: No. 5.
The issue number is found under From. This will be in parenthesis ( ) next to the volume number. Keep in mind that not every source will have an issue number.
URL: The URL can be found under "Get Link."