Chat with a Librarian
Skip to Main Content
ask a librarian email questions

About the Library

Information about library hours, locations, contact, policies, etc.

How Do I ...?

Below are common questions about how to do or find things at the SCC Library.


Find a book?

To find books that are physically at one of SCC's four campus libraries, search the Library Catalog. You can search by keyword, author, title, or subject. To see more options for finding books, including electronic (online) books and books that can be requested from another library, go to our Find Books & Videos page.

If you find a print book that you would like to check out, click on the title of the book in the Library Catalog. This will take you to the record for the book. From here, you will be able to see the book's location: what campus it is on, what section of the library it is in, and the call number for the book. If you have any questions, please Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service.

Find a video?

To find videos that the library owns, go to the Library Catalog and select "Advanced Search." In the drop-down for Material Type, choose "Video/Film." Then enter your search term in the search box. This will limit your search to video items, which are mostly DVDs, a few VHS tapes. For online videos, see our Streaming Videos page.

Check out a book or video?

SCC students, faculty, and staff need to bring their SCC ID cards to the library in order to check out materials. This ID card serves as your library card (we will also accept a photo ID such as your driver's license). For community patrons, you will need a driver's license or another form of valid picture ID from one of our service counties to sign up for a library card in order to check out materials. Students from PASCAL affiliated libraries, need to bring their valid student ID card from the school they attend to check out materials.

How long can I borrow an item?

Please see our Library Services page for check-out periods for each user and item type.

Access databases from on and off-campus?

Please visit our On and Off-Campus Access page for more details about logging into our databases from on and off-campus. Only SCC students, faculty, and staff can log in to our databases from off-campus. Community/Alumni can access the databases on campus.

Find a magazine or journal article?

To find a magazine or journal article on a specific topic, you will want to visit our Find Articles page, select the subject area that best fits your needs, and search one of the Library Databases listed in that subject area. For advice on which database to use or which subject area to begin looking, Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service

The SCC Library also has magazines and journals available in print in the library's periodical section. Each library location has different periodical subscriptions. The most recent issues of these magazines are kept out in the periodical section; however, the library usually keeps approximately 5 years worth of older journal issues and 1-3 months of magazines and newspapers depending on the space available in storage. To see older issues, please ask a library staff member to assist you. Print periodicals may not be checked out by students or community patrons. Visit a library location to view and use print periodicals, or search the Library Catalog for a specific periodical to see if the library subscribes.

Tell the difference between a magazine and a journal article?

Magazines usually have colorful, splashy covers, contain many advertisements, contain many pictures and colors, and are written in language the average audience can understand. They may mention sources, but they usually lack a bibliography or footnotes. There is no peer review process for a magazine, and they are usually written by regular journalists/staff members of the publisher.

Journals usually have plain covers, often with no pictures, little or no advertising, and most illustrations used are charts and graphs. Journals use higher-level language and jargon (terms and words) of the field; sources are cited, often in long bibliographies. The peer-review process is often required, and the authors are experts working in a particular field.

Visit our Difference Between Journals, Magazines, and Professional Periodicals page for more information.

Find a newspaper article?

To find a newspaper article on a specific topic, visit our Find Articles page, select the subject area that best fits your needs, and search one of the Library Databases listed in that subject area. Many databases have newspaper articles in them, but you can search a couple of databases that are entirely made up of newspaper articles. For these, see our News & Current Events databases. For advice on which database to use or which subject area to begin looking at, Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service.

The SCC Library also has newspapers available in print at each library location in the periodical section. Each library location subscribes to different newspapers depending on the campus location and courses offered. The most recent issues of these newspapers are kept in the periodicals section; however, the library usually keeps some older issues in storage depending on available storage space. If you need older issues, please ask a library staff member to assist you. Print newspapers may not be checked out by students or community patrons. Visit a library location to view and use print newspapers, or search the Library Catalog for a specific newspaper to see if the library subscribes.

Know whether SCC has a particular magazine or journal?

To tell if the library has a particular magazine or journal in print, visit a library location to view and use print periodicals, or search the Library Catalog for a specific periodical to see if the library subscribes.

To tell whether the library has articles from a particular magazine or journal article online, you can search for the title of the magazine or journal article in the Library Databases; however, because there are so many databases, this can be tricky. It is best to contact a Librarian for assistance -- Ask-A-Librarian.

Renew my materials online?

  1. Go to the Library Catalog and sign in with your SCC account (Same as your Portal).
    click sign in
  2. Once logged in, click on your name in the top-right, and then click "My Loans."
  3. Once you can view your loans, you will see the option to click "renew" on any items that can be renewed, or "renew all" to renew all of your loans.
  4. The screen will update to reflect if the renewals were successful with the new due dates.

Items are only able to be renewed two times (for most types of items) if the item is not overdue, and no other patron has requested it. Some item types cannot be renewed. Once an item is overdue, it may only be renewed in person (unless another patron has requested it) after the item is brought back to the library.

In addition to online, you may also renew items in person or by phone (see the Contact Us page).

Place a request on an item?

Students and Employees can place requests on items:

  • Checked out Items (when it is returned it will be placed on the hold shelf for you and you will receive an email)
  • Items on the shelf and available (Library Staff will pull the item and place it on the hold shelf for you and you will receive an email)
  • Items at another campus (Campus Library Staff will pull the item and send it through courier to pickup campus, you will receive an email)
  • Books that belong to another PASCAL Delivers institution (When the item is received, you will receive an email)

When you find the item in the Library Catalog that you want, you may place a request.  You will be contacted via email when the item is ready for you to check out, and this item will be held for you at the Circulation Desk.

  1. You will search for the item you need in the Library Catalog.  When you find an item that you need, you can make a request for it.
  2. You will need to sign in to the Library Catalog with your SCC username and password.
    sign in to the library catalog in order to request
  3. Once signed in, a "Request" link should appear if the item is requestable. It will say from "Request from SCC Library" or "Request via PASCAL Delivers" depending on if it is an SCC item or an item from another institution. 
  4. Click on the "Request" link and enter the library location where you want to pick up the item, the date in "Not needed after," and any comments for library staff.
  5. Then choose "Send Request."
  6. You will be notified by email (the email listed in the SCC system - usually your SCC email) when the item is available for you to checkout. If your request is canceled, you will also see the cancellation notice via your email. 

If you have any problems or questions, Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service.

Start a research paper?

Before you start searching for material, check out the Library's Research Guides to see if there is a subject guide that might help you with your assignment. These guides can point you to good places to start searching, as well as some specific materials that might be useful.

After that, you may want to check out the library's Find Books & Videos or Find Articles page for help locating those types of sources for your research.

If you have any questions, be sure to Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service.

Find a peer-reviewed or refereed journal article?

A "refereed" or "peer-reviewed" article is a scholarly work that was reviewed by the scholar's peers, meaning other scholars in the field. This is an important part of the research process since it allows other scholars to provide input on the accuracy and methods of the research. Only scholars or experts in a field write a refereed article. It is generally published in academic journals.

A general magazine article, on the other hand, is often written by someone who is not a specialist in the field. A good example of this would be Newsweek or Time articles -- they are written by journalists who have done research on the topic they are writing on, but they are not scholars in that topic. They are writing for general readership rather than on a level that only other scholars could understand.

Many of the library's databases give you the option to limit your search to peer-reviewed journal articles by checking a box on the search page. See the library database description to see if it includes journals.

Caution: Be aware of things like book reviews or editorials that appear in peer-reviewed journals, but aren't necessarily peer-reviewed themselves. For questions about this, Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service.

Make a Works Cited page?

A Works Cited or Reference page can vary depending on which citation style you are using. We have helpful information and guidance for both MLA and APA. If you have any questions or are using another style, Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service.

Make an annotated bibliography?

The format and content of an annotated bibliography can vary, so be sure to ask your instructor for specific guidelines; however, see our Annotated Bibliography page for guidance and examples of an annotated bibliography. For questions, Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service.

Cite an E-book?

To find the citation information you will need, click on "Cite" at the top of the page when viewing an e-book.

To learn how to format your citation, see our MLA or APA pages, depending on what citation style you are using.

Please Contact Us or send a question to our Ask a Librarian service.

Print?

Printing is only available to current SCC students, faculty, and staff. Every library location provides access to a black and white printer. Some campuses may have a color printer, where limited class-related printing is allowed. Please see a staff member if you need to print in color.

Students can print from the library computers or from their own devices if they are logged onto the SCC wifi. 

At the Giles Campus, from a library computer, print from the computer/program/website, choose the correct library printer (see a staff member if you're unsure which printer to choose), then visit the print station to release your print job. You release your print job by scanning your College ID card (the short barcode). If you have any trouble or questions, please see a staff member for assistance.

To print from a library computer at the other locations, follow the same procedure above to send your print job to the printer, but you do not have to scan your card to release the print job.

To print from your own device, join the SCC wifi, either as a student or employee, and then log into the Portal. Under the box called "Campus Applications for Students," you will see a link for "Student Release Printing." Open, login, and follow the directions to print. Be sure you select the correct library printer to send your print job to - ask a staff member if you're unsure which printer to use.

There are limits to how much you can print at any one time. Your print job cannot exceed:

  • 50 pages
  • 5 copies
  • And you cannot print the same document a second time within 90 seconds of sending it the first time.

Use a Computer or Wifi

Each SCC Library location has desktop computers for student use. You log into these computers with your SCC username and password. If you're not a student, Contact the library for more information about community users.

Free wifi is available across every SCC campuses, including all the library locations.

  • SCC students should connect their device to the network called SCC-Student. You will have to log in with your SCC username and password to connect to this network.
  • SCC employees use the network called SCC-employee, and must also login with their SCC username and password.
  • Community users should use the wifi network called SCC-Guest. This will prompt you to set up a temporary account that will allow you to connect to the network.

If you have any questions or trouble connecting, please contact SCC's IT department at 864-592-4682.

Also, please review and follow SCC's policy for Computer and Internet Use when using all technology on campus.

See if the library has my textbook?

The SCC bookstore, called The Book Inn, is where you can go to purchase personal copies of your textbooks.

However, the SCC Library does have some student textbooks.

Textbooks on Reserve: Textbooks on reserve are physical textbooks that have to be used in the library. They cannot be taken home or to class. Each library location has some textbooks at the front library desk. You can visit the campus or search the Course Reserves in the Library Catalog to see if we have your textbook.

To use, bring your SCC ID card (or a government-issued ID) to the library desk and tell the staff which book/course you're looking for. If the book is available (not being used by another student), the staff will check out the book to your library account (even though it's checked out, the book still has to stay in the library). When you're done, bring the book back up to the desk, and staff will check it in (removing it from your account). If you do not return the book, your library account will be charged a lost item fee. 

To search Course Reserves, type the title of the textbook, the course abbreviation and the number with a dash between (Eng-101) or official course name for example English Composition I. Use the filters on the left of the search screen to find the right book.