4. Find Sources

Once you've narrowed your topic and thought about keywords, try searching the databases below for potential sources you can use for your paper. Try to find sources that provide evidence to support your thesis. If your keywords aren't working, ask a librarian for help!

Databases / Articles

The following databases are the best place to start.

Gale Power Search
- This link opens in a new window
A good general database that covers many subjects, especially current new issues. Has magazine, journal, and newspaper articles, as well as some reference material. Full-text content.
EBSCO General Databases
- This link opens in a new window
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Proxy Bypass
Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Page images from selected historic newspapers of 25 states and the District of Columbia, published from 1836-1922. Includes 34 historic South Carolina newspapers published in Anderson, Anderson Court House, Bennettsville, Charleston, Columbia, Edgefield, Georgetown, Laurens, Orangeburg, Orangeburg Court House, Pickens Court House, Rock Hill, Sumter, and Sumterville. Searchable by date and keyword. Viewing options include PDF images, downloadable images, text only, and persistent links for sharing. Includes a searchable and browsable directory of U.S. newspapers from 1690-present.
U.S. Major Dailies
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to the five U.S. national and regional newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1980 for some titles.
Newspaper Source Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. News articles from the 1990s-current. Provided through EBSCO.
Gale OneFile: News
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers; search for articles by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, etc. National, regional, and local newspapers, as well as international papers. Also transcripts from radio broadcasts and television. Coverage 1990s-current
Newsbank: Access World News
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories including SC Newspapers of Herald -Journal (Spartanburg), The State (Columbia), and The Post and Courier (Charleston).
Black Life in America (Newsbank)
Comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century to the present day from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications.

The Art of Great Speeches : and why we remember them by Dennis Glover
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1139161164
Publication Date: 2011
It shows how master speechwriters connect with their audiences, seize a moment, project character, use facts convincingly and destroy their opponents' arguments as they try to force the hand of history or create memorable drama. The Art of Great Speeches does what no other book does - it explains why these speeches are great.
The Lost Art of the Great Speech by Richard Dowis
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0585081255
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Splashy slides, confident body language, and a lot of eye contact are fine and well. But if a speech is rambling, illogical, or just plain boring, the impact will be lost. Now everyone can learn to give powerful, on-target speeches that capture an audience's attention and drive home a message.
Winning Arguments : what works and doesn't work in politics, the bedroom, the courtroom, and the classroom by Stanley Fish
Call Number: Giles Campus Stacks P301.5 .P47 F53 2016
ISBN: 9780062226655
Publication Date: 2016-07-05
In Winning Arguments, Fish employs this same wit and observational prowess as he guides readers through rhetoric including landmark legal cases, arguments drawn from popular film and TV, and even Fish's own career.
What Is Rhetoric? by Michel Meyer
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0199691827
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
Rhetoric is the way in which we answer questions in an interpersonal context, when we want to have an effect on those with whom we are communicating. They can be convinced or charmed, persuaded or influenced, and the language used can range from reasoning to the sharing of narratives, literary or otherwise.
Elements of Rhetoric by Richard Whately; Douglas Ehninger (Editor); David Potter (Foreword by)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0809386127
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Comprising an Analysis of the Laws of Moral Evidence and of Persuasion, with Rules for Argumentative Composition and Elocution.
Rhetoric and Composition by Joe Torres
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1281359068
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Rhetoric and composition is an academic discipline that informs all other fields in teaching students how to communicate their ideas and construct their arguments. This book offers an accessible introduction to teaching and studying rhetoric and composition.

World War II and the Cold War : The Rhetoric of Hearts and Minds by Martin J. Medhurst (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1609175735
Publication Date: 2018-09-01
From the preparedness debates to the evil empire : hearts and minds in wartime rhetoric.
The President Electric by Timothy Raphael
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0472026631
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
A narrative of how commandingly Reagan mastered the matrix of performance, technology, media, celebrity, and the 'republic of consumption' he came of age in
Kennedy and the Berlin Wall by W. R. Smyser
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0742599787
Publication Date: 2009-09-16
The Berlin Wall Crisis dominated the presidency of John F. Kennedy from his inauguration in 1961 until his historic trip to the city in June 1963.
The Good Neighbor : Franklin D. Roosevelt and the rhetoric of American power by Mary E. Stuckey
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1609173902
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
No modern president has had as much influence on American national politics as Franklin D. Roosevelt. During FDR's administration, power shifted from states and localities to the federal government.
Pearl Harbor : FDR leads the Nation into war by Steven M. Gillon
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1281607371
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Franklin D. Roosevelt famously called December 7, 1941, ?a date which will live in infamy." History would prove him correct; the events of that day?when the Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor?ended the Great Depression, changed the course of FDR's presidency, and swept America into World War II.
Presidential Voices speaking styles from George Washington to George W. Bush by Allan Metcalf
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0547350309
Publication Date: 2004-07-14
The original -- The great orators -- The great communicators -- Speechwriters -- The down to earth president -- The blunderers -- Presidents as neologists -- Presidential accents -- Acting presidents: movies and television -- How to talk like a president -- Profiles of the presidents.

Martin Luther King, Jr by Robert C. Evans (Editor)
ISBN: 9781642650303
Publication Date: 2019-04-30
Available Online and Giles Campus Stacks (E185.97 .K5 M378 2019) This volume examines both the speeches and writings of Martin Luther King, Jr., highlighting a variety of interpretive approaches, including rhetorical analysis, close reading, and explorations setting King's work in social, cultural, historical, and political contexts.
Martin Luther King, Jr by Marshall Frady
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780143036487
Publication Date: 2005-12-27
Deftly interweaving the story of King's quest with a history of the African American struggle for equality, Frady offers fascinating insights into his subject's magnetic character, with its mixture of piety and ambition. He explores the complexities of King's relationships with other civil rights leaders, the Kennedy and Johnson administrations.
Ring Out Freedom!: the Voice of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Making of the Civil Rights Movement by Fredrik Sunnemark
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1282071513
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
This book explores how King used words to define a movement. Between two cultures of American society, King shaped the language that gave the movement its identity and meaning. Fredrik Sunnemark shows how materialistic, idealistic, and religious ways of explaining the world coexisted in King's speeches and writings.
How to Analyze the Works of Martin Luther King Jr by Rosa Boshier
Call Number: Downtown Stacks Circulating E185.97 .K5 B598 2013
ISBN: 1617836478
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
resents critiques of four works of the Nobel Prize-winning civil rights leader and guides readers through the process of analyzing them from different critical angles, including moral theory and historical, racial, and rhetorical viewpoints.
Elie Wiesel : Speaking Out Against Genocide by Sarah Machajewski
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 1477776109
Publication Date: 2014-07-30
Through his writing, teaching, and activism, Elie Wiesel has worked to ensure the atrocities of the Holocaust will never be forgotten. A tireless advocate for human rights, he has worked to raise awareness of all acts of genocide. Wiesel has become a hero and a voice for innocent people around the globe.
Elie Wiesel and the Art of Storytelling by Rosemary Horowitz (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0786482680
Publication Date: 2006-10-30
Elie Wiesel is a master storyteller with the ability to use storytelling as a form of activism. rom his landmark memoir Night to his novels and numerous retellings of Hasidic legends, Wiesel's literature emphasizes storytelling, and he frequently refers to himself as a storyteller rather than an author or historian.
Student Companion to Elie Wiesel by Sanford V. Sternlicht
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0313017158
Publication Date: 2003-11-30
ince it was written nearly 50 years ago, Night (1958) has changed world perception of the Holocaust experience. Wiesel's oeuvre, including Holocaust narratives such as Dawn (1961), novels, essays, tales, and plays, has also altered the critical and aesthetic landscape through which we view literature, placing themes of religious identity, hope, survival, devotion to family, and humanity ahead of distinctions of fiction and nonfiction.

Find More Books

Use the search box below to search for books at the SCC Library.

Find More E-Books

For ebooks, use the databases below.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of over 260,000 eBooks including a variety of subjects including history, business, social science, political science, literature, science, medical, technical subjects, etc.. Proxy Bypass
EBook Central
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 250,000 eBooks including a variety of subjects including social science, history, literature, business/management, religion, science, medicine, fine arts, education, etc.
Gale eBooks
- This link opens in a new window
Contains Reference books covering many subjects, but primarily in areas of literature and social science (including history), and also some in health and science.