SCC Research Guides: Streaming Video Collections: Video Collections

Streaming Video Collections

This guide provides information about streaming video collections available through the SCC Library databases.

Streaming video is an exciting way to present concepts in course work. It is convenient and easy to use. The SCC Library provides access to streaming video collections on a variety of topics. These videos can be viewed by SCC students, faculty and staff, on or off-campus. Streaming videos can also be shown in the classroom, or embedded in D2L. Below are links to the collections themselves. Instructions on using and embedding these videos in D2L, etc. can be found on individual pages for each collection on the guide menu.

Films on Demand
Educational videos available via streaming to anywhere (off-campus must log in).
Topics cover general academic areas, as well as health science, industrial, and
business/technology related topics. Proxy Bypass
Kanopy
- This link opens in a new window
Watch over 30,000 Documentaries, Classic and Indie Films. Stream films anytime, anywhere on your preferred devices.
Swank
Instructor-selected streaming videos you can watch any time on any device. Instructors – create a free account to request access to specific titles for class use; choose from popular feature films, documentaries, TV shows, and foreign films.
Bloom's Literature - Videos
- This link opens in a new window
Videos in our Bloom's database of dramatic productions of literary works, as well as documentaries, interviews, commentary from Harold Bloom, and other educational literature-related videos.
National Theatre Collection (from Drama Online)
- This link opens in a new window
50 full-length streaming videos of live theatre performances from the National Theatre (London, England), including Antigone, Hamlet, Frankenstein, and a Streetcar Named Desire.
JOMI: Journal of Medical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Journal of Medical Insight is a peer-reviewed surgical video journal used for video-based surgical education. Note: For off-campus access create a free account using your SCC email address.
JOMI films and publishes surgical procedures offering incision-to-closure, long-form, high-quality, surgeon-narrated didactic experiences / masterclasses. Most of JOMI content is focused on general surgery, orthopaedics, orthopaedic trauma, neurosurgery, and head and neck surgery.
Videatives
- This link opens in a new window
360+ short streaming videos and text showing young children in different situations. Designed to help early childhood educators learn strategies and techniques for teaching and interacting with children.